Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Cases illustrate how methods are applied in real research projects.
The SENCO Handbook by
This Handbook will give aspiring and practising SENCOs, teachers, Headteachers and Governors an in-depth knowledge and understanding of effective policy, provision and practice to meet the diverse needs of children with special educational needs and disabilities. Each chapter will provide: A theoretical underpinning Evidence-based information and examples Activities for professional learning and whole school development Easy to use and adaptable templates and checklists for use in settings Case studies to strengthen connections between theory and practice Providing comprehensive coverage of current issues, the understanding of how to improve provision and practice in their settings and written with consultation from practising SENCOs, this is essential reading for those studying towards their National Award for Special Educational Needs Co-ordination.
Handbook of Childhood Psychopathology and Developmental Disabilities Assessment by
​This handbook describes evidence-based methods of assessing psychological, educational, behavioral, and developmental problems in children and adolescents. It provides state-of-the-art analyses of leading assessment tools and methods. Chapters provide an overview of childhood assessment issues, diagnostic classification systems, interviewing and report writing, traditional assessment tools and methods, such as Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA). In addition, chapters address daily living, academic, and social skills, commonly encountered psychological conditions, and developmental disorders, reviewing definitions and etiology, history of assessment and diagnosis, possible comorbid conditions, and current measures and procedures. The handbook also covers specific childhood disorders that often present assessment challenges in children, such as posttraumatic stress disorder, mood disorders, pain, and feeding and eating disorders. Topics featured in this handbook include: Adaptive and developmental behavior scales. Diagnostic classification systems and how to apply them to childhood problems and disorders. Intelligence testing and its use in childhood psychological assessment. Assessment of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in persons with developmental disabilities. Self-Injurious behavior in children. Prevalence and assessment of common sleep problems in children. The Handbook of Childhood Psychopathology and Developmental Disabilities Assessment is an essential resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and related therapists and professionals in clinical child and school psychology, pediatrics, social work, developmental psychology, behavioral therapy/rehabilitation, child and adolescent psychiatry, and special education.
Handbook of Learning Disabilities, Second Edition by
Widely regarded as the standard reference in the field, this comprehensive handbook presents state-of-the-art knowledge about the nature and classification of learning disabilities (LD), their causes, and how individuals with these difficulties can be identified and helped to succeed. Best practices are described for supporting student performance in language arts, math, and other content areas. Contributors also identify general principles of effective instruction and review issues in service delivery within response-to-intervention (RTI) frameworks. The book critically examines the concepts and methods that guide LD research and highlights important directions for future investigation. New to This Edition: *Incorporates key advances in identifying and remediating LD, with particular attention to the role of RTI. *Chapters on social cognitive, behavioral genetic, and neurobiological aspects. *Chapters on adolescents and adults with LD. *Chapters on spelling instruction, history instruction, and classroom technology applications. *Chapter synthesizing 21st-century advances in LD research methods, plus chapters on advanced statistical models, single-case designs, and meta-analysis.
Handbook of Special Education by
The purpose of the Handbook of Special Education is to help profile and bring greater clarity to the already sprawling and continuously expanding field of special education. To ensure consistency across the volume, chapter authors review and integrate existing research, identify strengths and weaknesses, note gaps in the literature, and discuss implications for practice and future research. The second edition has been fully updated throughout to take into account recent changes to federal laws as well as the most current academic research, and an entirely new section has been added on research methods in special education.
Effective Augmentative and Alternative Communication Practices by
Effective Augmentative and Alternative Communication Practices provides a user-friendly handbook for any school-based practitioner, whether you are a special education teacher, an augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) consultant, assistive technology consultant, speech language pathologist, or occupational therapist. This highly practical book translates the AAC research into practice and explains the importance of the use of AAC strategies across settings. The handbook also provides school-based practitioners with resources to be used during the assessment, planning, and instructional process.
The Handbook of Diversity in Special Education by
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds. Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research Addresses disabilities from an international perspective
Handbook of Early Childhood Special Education by
This handbook discusses early childhood special education (ECSE), with particular focus on evidence-based practices. Coverage spans core intervention areas in ECSE, such as literacy, motor skills, and social development as well as diverse contexts for services, including speech-language pathology, physical therapy, and pediatrics. Contributors offer strategies for planning, implementing, modifying, and adapting interventions to help young learners extend their benefits into the higher grades. Concluding chapters emphasize the importance of research in driving evidence-based practices (EBP). Topics featured in the Handbook include: Family-centered practices in early childhood intervention. The application of Response to Intervention (RtI) in young children with identified disabilities. Motor skills acquisition for young children with disabilities. Implementing evidence-based practices in ECSE classrooms. · Cultural, ethnic, and linguistic implications for ECSE. The Handbook of Early Childhood Special Education is a must-have resource for researchers, professors, upper-level undergraduate and graduate students, clinicians, and practitioners across such disciplines as child and school psychology, early childhood education, clinical social work, speech and physical therapy, developmental psychology, behavior therapy, and public health.
Handbook of Research on Classroom Diversity and Inclusive Education Practice by
As classrooms are becoming more diverse, teachers are now faced with the responsibility of creating an inclusive classroom community. As such, researching classroom pedagogies and practices is an imperative step in curriculum planning. The Handbook of Research on Classroom Diversity and Inclusive Education Practice is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly research on ways to effectively teach all students and further refine and strengthen school-wide inclusive pedagogy, methods, and policies. Featuring extensive coverage on a number of topics such as special education, online learning, and English language learners, this publication is ideally designed for professionals, educators, and policy makers seeking current research on methods that ensure all students have equal access to curricular content and the chance for growth and success.
Handbook of Social Skills and Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This handbook identifies the various social deficiencies widely associated with children and youth diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). It discusses possible causes as well as the lifelong effects if these deficiencies are not addressed. The handbook presents current behavioral and curriculum-based methods for assessing social deficits. Chapters examine the various interventions that have been used to improve social skills and behavior, including video modeling, peer-mediated interventions, and script fading. Chapters also assess various interventions using empirically based procedures, evaluate the research of each of these procedures, provide guidelines for treatment planning, and offer clinical recommendations. The handbook concludes with future directions for the development of both social behavior and clinical social skills interventions. Topics featured in the Handbook include: Impairments in social behavior that may result in negative outcomes such as depression, loneliness, and suicide in individuals with ASD. Bullying among youth with ASD. Behavioral skills training to promote social behavior of individuals with ASD. The Early Start Denver Model approach to helping young children with ASD. The implementation of social skills groups for individuals diagnosed with ASD. The Handbook of Social Skills and Autism Spectrum Disorder is a must-have resource for researchers, clinicians/professionals, and graduate students in clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, behavioral therapy, and social work, as well as such interrelated disciplines as child and adolescent psychiatry, rehabilitation medicine/therapy, pediatrics, and special education/educational psychology.
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education by
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds. Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research Addresses disabilities from an international perspective
Handbook of Giftedness in Children by
In one comprehensive resource, this superb handbook covers everything you need to know about the subject. It brings together leading experts from the fields of psychology and education, combining theory and applied empirical research on such crucial topics as conceptualization, types of intelligence, developmental considerations, and ethical and legal concerns. Particular attention is given to social and family contexts, and evidence-based strategies and interventions offer solid guidelines on assessment, curriculum design, and encouraging and nurturing talent - from preschool through adolescence.
The Routledge International Handbook of Dyslexia in Education by
The Routledge International Handbook of Dyslexia in Education showcases the various examples, expertise, and successful initiatives attempted to include students with dyslexia around the globe. It highlights progress and identifies gaps for growth globally to stand united against dyslexia as a literacy problem and a specific learning disability challenge. Taking a truly global view, each chapter from world-leading experts highlights issues related to the definition of dyslexia and how it is recognised locally, its implications on relevant legislations and educational policy and how teacher training programs on dyslexia are delivered at both pre-service and in-service levels. Contributors to this handbook also discuss and compare the services and tools available to identify individuals with dyslexia, such as nationally standardized tests and tools for dyslexia assessment. Students, researchers, teachers and other educational professionals who require highly relevant, research-informed guidance on dyslexia and its awareness, identification, training, outreach, and intervention around the globe will find this handbook an essential and timely resource. Readers will also be able to identify shared experiences and good lessons from around the world, as well as learn about better strategies to guide their journey in their own local community.
The Palgrave Handbook of Transformational Giftedness for Education by 
Handbook of Research on Critical Issues in Special Education for School Rehabilitation Practices by
Rehabilitation professionals working with students with disabilities and the families of those students face unique challenges in providing inclusive services to special education student populations. There needs to be a focus on adaptive teaching methods that provide quality experience for students with varying disabilities to promote student success and inclusivity. Critical issues within these practices span autism, diverse students, gifted education, learning disabilities, behavioral and emotional disorders, and more. With having many different types of students with vastly different situations, it is important for rehabilitation professionals to understand the best practices and learning systems for special education students who have a wide range of needs and challenges. The Handbook of Research on Critical Issues in Special Education for School Rehabilitation Practices focuses on the issues and challenges rehabilitation professionals face in special education and how they can provide inclusive and effective services to diverse student populations. This book highlights topics such as culturally responsive teacher preparation, artificial intelligence in the classroom, universal design, inclusive development, and school rehabilitation and explores the effects these newfound practices in education have on various types of students with disabilities. This book is essential for special education teachers, administrators, counselors, practitioners, researchers, academicians, and students interested in the new methods, theories, and solutions for the best practices in inclusive and effective special education.
Physical Education for Young People with Disabilities by
Physical Education for Young People with Disabilities explores a range of methods that will support teachers to be more inclusive in their practice when planning and teaching Physical Education. Offering many practical ideas to include pupils with specific additional needs across a range of activity areas, such as athletics, dance, gymnastics and swimming, this book will increase practitioners' confidence, enabling them to feel equipped to meet individual needs and include all pupils in their lessons. The range of authors provides a wide perspective and wealth of experience, and all the ideas have been trialled with students and young people, both nationally and internationally. Written by practitioners for practitioners, this book is a valuable resource for trainee teachers, in-service teachers and practitioners working in a practical or sporting context with young people, and will support Physical Education lessons and physical activity sessions.
Handbook of Arts Education and Special Education by
The Handbook of Arts Education and Special Education brings together, for the first time in a single reference volume, policy, research, and practices in special education and arts education synthesized to inform stakeholders across a broad spectrum of education. This handbook encompasses arts education for students with disabilities, from pre-K through transition to postsecondary education and careers as well as community arts education, with particular attention to conceptual foundations; research-based practices; professional standards; students' cognitive, artistic, and social growth; career education; and future directions for research and practice in special education and arts education.
Handbook of Adolescent Transition Education for Youth with Disabilities by
Now in a thoroughly revised and updated second edition, this handbook provides a comprehensive resource for those who facilitate the complex transitions to adulthood for adolescents with disabilities. Building on the previous edition, the text includes recent advances in the field of adolescent transition education, with a focus on innovation in assessment, intervention, and supports for the effective transition from school to adult life. The second edition reflects the changing nature of the demands of transition education and adopts a "life design" approach. This critical resource is appropriate for researchers and graduate-level instructors in special and vocational education, in-service administrators and policy makers, and transition service providers.
Routledge Handbook of Adapted Physical Education by
This handbook represents the first comprehensive and evidence-based review of theory, research, and practice in the field of adapted physical education (APE). Exploring philosophical and foundational aspects of APE, the book outlines the main conceptual frameworks informing research and teaching in this area, and presents important material that will help shape best practice and future research. Written by world-leading researchers, the book introduces the key themes in APE, such as historical perspectives on disability, disability and the law, language, and measurement. It examines the most significant theoretical frameworks for understanding APE, from embodiment and social cognitive theory to occupational socialization, and surveys current debates and practical issues in APE, such as teacher training, the use of technology, and physical inactivity and health. Acknowledging the importance of the voices of children, parents and peers, the book also explores research methods and paradigms in APE, with each chapter including directions for further research. Offering an unprecedented wealth of material, the Routledge Handbook of Adapted Physical Education is an essential reference for advanced students, researchers and scholars working in APE, and useful reading for anybody with an interest in disability, physical education, sports coaching, movement science or youth sport.
Teacher Education and Autism by
This is a research-based guide that provides a framework for effective training around autism for teachers. An edited collection of short chapters, the book is full of practical activities and discussion points ideally suited for time-stretched trainee teachers, those leading training courses and busy teachers continuing to learn on the job. Focusing on the myriad ways that autism affects pupils and their education, it covers key training strategies around autism including maths, physical education, sex and relationships, behaviour management and more. Each contains the material for a session to be delivered to trainee teachers or to provide a unit of self-study. Combining research into the needs of trainee teachers, parents, and students with autism, this book offers an effective roadmap for teacher training and a better understanding of how to meet the needs of autistic pupils.
The SAGE Handbook of Gifted and Talented Education by
The SAGE Handbook of Gifted & Talented Education provides a comprehensive and international overview of key challenges and issues in the field of gifted education, making this an invaluable volume for individuals in the fields of education, public and private school administration, psychology and beyond. Containing contributions by a range of expert authors from around the world, chapters include discussions of the wide range of human abilities and talents which impinge upon academic success, with explorations of various political, social and economic factors which influence how 'giftedness' and 'gifted education' is defined and understood in different regions around the globe. PART 1. CONCEPTS OF GIFTEDNESS AND IDENTIFICATION: SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL NEEDS PART 2: EDUCATIONAL PROVISION: PROGRAMS AND STRATEGIES PART 3: GLOBAL RESPONSES TO EMERGING G&T PROVISION: DEFINING THE FUTURE
The SAGE Handbook of Autism and Education by
Education is an important aspect of the environmental influences on autism and effective education can have a significant effect on outcome for those on the autism spectrum. This handbook is a definitive resource for reflective practitioners and researchers who wish to know and understand current views of the nature of autism and best practice in educational support. It explores the key concepts, debates and research areas in the field.
The Palgrave Handbook of Positive Education by
This open access handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the growing field of positive education, featuring a broad range of theoretical, applied, and practice-focused chapters from leading international experts. It demonstrates how positive education offers an approach to understanding learning that blends academic study with life skills such as self-awareness, emotion regulation, healthy mindsets, mindfulness, and positive habits, grounded in the science of wellbeing, to promote character development, optimal functioning, engagement in learning, and resilience. The handbook offers an in-depth understanding and critical consideration of the relevance of positive psychology to education, which encompasses its theoretical foundations, the empirical findings, and the existing educational applications and interventions. The contributors situate wellbeing science within the broader framework of education, considering its implications for teacher training, education and developmental psychology, school administration, policy making, pedagogy and curriculum studies. This landmark collection will appeal to researchers and practitioners working in positive psychology, educational and school psychology, developmental psychology, education, counselling, social work and public policy.
The Post-16 SENCO Handbook by
This accessible, practical handbook provides essential guidance to SENCOs in sixth forms and colleges of further education on how to manage the support of students with additional needs, and how to work with their colleagues, students' families and external professionals to co-ordinate effective provision. As a result of the revised Code of Practice 0-25 years (2015) it has been necessary for the FE sector to develop a new approach to the responsibility for, and support of, students with learning difficulties and disabilities. With up-to-date information on supporting and taking responsibility for learners with SEN and disabilities, this book offers practical advice and guidance on: * The expectations of Further Education colleges and an overview of the learning difficulties/disabilities that they may need to support; * assessment methods and the importance of consistent, ongoing vigilance and analysis; * the roles, responsibilities and staff specialism involved in providing different support for different needs; * requesting and reviewing Education, Health and Care Plans; * working with families, carers, schools and other external professionals; * planning for the onward transition of a learner's further education experience. The Post-16 SENCO Handbook will be essential reading for those involved with provision for post-16 students with additional learning needs who want to deepen their knowledge and enhance their practice.