Skip to main content

Special Education: Home

Special Education

New Books of Interest

New Resources Highlight

Welcome

This Research Guide provides information about special education resources found in the EdUHK Library and provided by the Library online. Use the tabs to navigate the guide.

Media Resources Highlight

 

SAGE Video is a series of online collections developed in partnership with leading academics, societies and practitioners, including many of SAGE’s own authors and academic partners, to deliver cutting-edge pedagogical collections mapped to disciplinary curricular needs within the social sciences.

The Education Collection comprised of 115 hours and 550 videos, it offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership to support students needing to understand the theory or how to apply it in practice.

Bestselling author and activist Temple Grandin discusses Autism, and other contributors include leading authors Peter Smith on Bullying, Wendy W. Murawski on Co-Teaching, Julia Link Roberts on Gifted and Talented, and many more. 

The collection includes observational classroom footage, and teachers, principals and other education practitioners demonstrating and discuss key methods. Completing the collection are editorially selected documentaries from BBC Worldwide and the award-winning Siren Films.

Instructor Manuals

These manuals are faculty-oriented guides designed to help course instructors implement SAGE Video content within their teaching practices. Whether delivering lectures, research assignments, class discussion, or different forms of assessment, the following documents are intended to help instructors think about how they might use video in their course teaching, providing practical examples for implementation. Written by academic faculty members in the relevant disciplines, each Instructor’s Manual is organized by content type, describing the value of using that particular content type in a given discipline, then selects a video example and lists the courses in which this could be used. The manuals offer carefully curated clips of that content and the key concepts in which the clips will aid learning, and provide a variety of different course contexts where these clips can enhance instruction, such as assignments and assessments.

If you would like to know more about how to use SAGE Video, see the detailed guide.

EdUHK Research Repository

The EdUHK Research Repository collects, manages, preserves and showcases the research output of EdUHK staff in one digital location. Records can be browsed by Researchers, Research Units or Research Outputs, and searchable by keywords or phrases. It represents a major knowledge management resource of the University and demonstrates the range and level of research achievement of EdUHK staff.

Departmental Librarian

      Michelle Yiu

Department of Special Education and Counselling (SEC)

Michelle Yiu

Contact me:

Email: myhyiu@eduhk.hk

Tel: 2948 7418

Stay in touch with Library

 Phone: 2948 6653 |  Email: libinfo@eduhk.hk WhatsApp: 9514 9655 (Service Hours) Ask a Librarian