Skip to Main Content

Research Support

At every stage of your research cycle, the EdUHK Library offers support to assist you.

Introduction

Welcome to EdUHK Library Research Services! 

Developed in collaboration with the Committee for Research and Development (CRD), our research services are designed to cater to your research needs, whether you're starting a new project or preparing for publication. With a personalized approach, we offer a comprehensive range of services to assist you at every stage of your research journey. To submit the Research Services Request.

  • Assistance in finding relevant literature and data for research
  • Training and workshops on research skills and tools
  • Assistance in publishing research work
  • Access to various research databases and tools

EdUHK Research Repository

No matter your research output is to be published or has been published in a book or journal, the content can only be viewed by the buyers or subscribers. You can also possibly publish your work at the Library’s EdUHK Research Repository to let the rest of the world see it. 

The EdUHK Research Repository collects, manages, preserves and showcases the research output of EdUHK staff in one digital location. Records can be browsed by Researchers, Research Units or Research Outputs, and searchable by keywords or phrases. The Research Repository also provides access to an electronic copy of the material when available. It represents a major knowledge management resource of the University and demonstrates the range and level of research achievement of EdUHK staff.

Literature Searches

The Library provides access to over three hundred bibliographic and full-text databases in English and Chinese in most education-related fields. Your assigned Librarian will work with you on designing a search strategy for your topic, and if preferred can also undertake a literature search of databases on your behalf, to ensure that you are covering the full range of print and electronic resources available.

In addition, our librarians will maintain regular contact with you to review the literature search and continue to retrieve more relevant resources for you as your project progresses.

Please submit your Online Search request.

Library Workshops

The Library can provide individual or group instruction in the use of all of its databases and research tools in helping the EdUHK community to enhance research skills and to connect with other researchers´╝Ü

  • Exploring iSearch
  • InCites Journal Citation Reports
  • Learning RefWorks
  • Using Google Effectively for Academic Research
  • More...

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that helps you to:

  • Create your own personal database of references
  • Import references from library catalogues or online databases
  • Organize and manage your references using folders for different topics or projects
  • Generate in-text citation and bibliographies in a variety of citation styles
  • Access your references from any computer connected to Internet

You can visit our step-by-step guides to learn more tips on using RefWorks.

For EndNote users: University does not subscribe EndNote. However, EdUHK staff and students may also use a limited version of EndNote called “EndNote Online with WOS”. Users can access Web of Science (WOS) subscribed by the Library, click on the “Products” button on the top right corner, and select “EndNote” to register for a free account.  You can export your references and upload to your RefWorks account.

Promotion of EdUHK Research Visibility

No matter your research output is to be published or has been published in a book or journal, the content can only be viewed by the buyers or subscribers. You can also possibly publish your work at the Library’s EdUHK Research Repository to let the rest of the world see it. To establish a presence on the Repository, please email the EdUHK Research Repository Team at librep@eduhk.hk or by phone on 2948 6575. The Library will help you all the way to publication on the Repository.

Research Consultation Service

Librarians in the Academic and Learning Support Section are available to provide one-on-one consultations tailored to address researchers' specific information needs:

  • Help to identify the information needs
  • Assist in locating relevant resources for research projects
  • Provide guidance in constructing effective search techniques for literature searches
  • Assist in searching electronic and print resources efficiently
  • Help to evaluate the resources used

Don't hesitate to contact your Departmental Librarians for further details.

Article Alerts

Alerting services offer current information in your research field or areas of interest, enabling you to stay informed about the latest research developments. By subscribing to the Alert Service, staff and students will receive notifications regularly of newly published journal articles on specific topics. The alert notifications will be generated automatically by major e-databases subscribed by the Library.

Alerting services utilise different methods of delivery. These include receiving alerts via email or by accessing an RSS feed. For more information on RSS feeds, you can refer to our webpage.

SDI (Selective Dissemination of Information)

SDI is a personal current awareness service providing researchers with the latest publications on a specified research topic. Once a search profile is created and saved, relevant information will be sent to the researcher automatically whenever the selected databases are updated.

This service is available to Academic Staff and Administrative Staff of Equivalent Status. Please contact the Academic and Learning Support at extension 6653 for further information or submit your SDI request.

Document Delivery Services

When books and journal articles are not available electronically or in print form in the EdUHK Library collections, the Library can request them on your behalf through its Document Delivery or Inter-Library Loans services.