Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
the set contains 772 alphabetically arranged articles. they cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. I
Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science by
Students and library users now have an excellent resource to consult when interpreting the major envirnomental issues that are reported daily. A valualble reference source with a comprehensive international scope, the Encyclopedia describes the important environmental terms pertinent to anyone interested in this vital field. Also indluded are over 200 detailed graphs, tables, and photographs. A list of key contacts helps readers expand their search of environmental issues. From Edward Abbey to zooxanthellae, this A-Z resource gives readers over 1,000 entries that tell the story of environmental science. With its wide range of information and international flavor, The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science establishes the standard for students, librarians, and others who want to understand this complex and ever-changing area of science. This comprehensive resource contains approximately 1000 entries covering environmental and governmental organizations and agencies, environmental, terms, scientists and activists, and regulations and legislation. The Encyclopedia is the only resource of its kind to take a global approach towards environmental issues. The succinct, easy-to- understand definitions and descriptions of environmental topics and useful bibliographic sources make it an ideal tool for all high school, college, and public libraries.
Publication Date: 2000-10-16
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies by
Praise for the previous edition: ...a readable, informative source...highly recommended for public and undergraduate libraries..., Choice an up-to date dictionary...useful to activists, students, and others who need clear definitions...for terms in environmental literature..., Booklist ...a very useful source of basic explanations of terms related to one of today's very hot topics. , Wilson Library Bulletin ...a major contribution to helping the diverse constituency of environmentalism speak the same language. , American Reference Books Annual Written by two experts in the field
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering by
Completely revised and updated, Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, Fifth Edition spans the entire spectrum of environmental science and engineering. Still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in this field, the monumental two-volume encyclopedia has expanded to include 87 articles on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health, to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, toxicology, radioactive waste, and water treatment. The articles have been extensively revised and updated, new ones have been added to cover the latest developments related to today's environmental problems. The result is a reference work that provides the information necessary to understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment.
Publication Date: 2006-01-13
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The five volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather, they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues.
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Protecting the Environment by
Even though a growing number of people have begun to consider the impact of their actions on the environment, the planet remains vulnerable to human activity and the byproducts of modern conveniences. Thanks to an increasing number of conservation efforts, the planets ecosystems may emerge from the looming shadow of ecological threats. This stimulating volume examines the various individual-level and institutional responses to Earths damaged natural resources, discussing ways to stem the tide of disappearing species and habitats and examining potential methods of protecting the planet for future generations.
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Learning the fundamental principles of essay writing is becoming an ever more important skill for students. In 2005 the SAT gave its stamp to this initiative by adding an essay requirement to the popular college entrance exam. Each book in Greenhaven Press's Writing the Critical Essay: An Opposing Viewpoints Guide includes everything necessary to help students research, outline, draft, edit, and ultimately write successful essays across the curriculum. Using the patented Opposing Viewpoints format, this book focuses on writing the descriptive essay. The descriptive essay is a frequently used model in expository writing. Readers will find useful information to write a successful descriptive essay, including thesis statements, introductions, and conclusions. In addition, readers will find information to compile a "source cited" list using MLA style. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2010-05-07
The international encyclopedia of geography : people, the earth, environment, and technology by
Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. Available as a robust online resource and as a 15-volume full-color print set, the Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. Contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world Assembles a truly global group of more than 900 scholars hailing from over 40 countries, for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world Provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science Brings together interdisciplinary perspectives on geographical topics and techniques of interest across the social sciences, humanities, science, and medicine Features full color throughout the print version and more than 1,000 illustrations and photographs Annual updates to online edition
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by
This informative dictionary contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of the environment and conservation. International in scope, it embraces a broad spectrum of environmental areas including sustainable development, biodiversity, conservation, environmental ethics, philosophy, and history,resource management, sociology, and policy on the environment. In addition to its wide-ranging, concise definitions, it includes longer key entries on topics such as Antarctica, Gaia hypothesis, genetic engineering, the Kyoto Protocol, and the United Nations Conference on Environmental Development.The dictionary is uniquely comprehensive in that it addresses the social, legal, political, and economic aspects of the environment and conservation as well as the scientific terms. Coverage includes international treaties, movements, trusts and organizations, as well as biographies of key figuresin environmental science. It also boasts wide coverage of terms relating to rural/community development and participation, an area with an increasingly key role in managing the environment and biodiversity. This places the subject of the environment firmly in a human as well as a scientific context.The dictionary is supplemented with an invaluable selection of 10 appendices, including international hazard assessment scales (including the Beaufort scale, the Richter scale, and the Fujita tornado scale), the geological timescale, and a list of useful websites for further study.Concise and wide-ranging, this is an essential work of reference for students and professionals, and anyone with an interest in the environment and conservation
Publication Date: 2008-09-04
Alternative Energy by
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
An exceptionally timely volume that weighs the costs and benefits of alternative energy sources and their implications for reducing energy consumption.
Can Renewable Energy Replace Fossil Fuels? by
Many experts believe renewable energy sources such as solar and wind power hold the answers to stemming climate change as well as reducing America's reliance on foreign governments to provide oil. Through objective discussion, numerous direct quotes, and full-color illustrations this title examines What Are the Origins of the Controversy over Fossil Fuels? How Practical Is Renewable Energy? How Affordable Is Renewable Energy? What Policies Should Guide Renewable EnergyÃ*s Future? Can People Live Without Fossil Fuels?
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Energy Production and Alternative Energy by
This essential volume helps readers explore in detail the range of current and impending challenges that energy production and resources face as a result of global warming. Readers will examine these issues from a variety of expert perspectives, highlighting key future challenges, and addressing the pros and cons of potential solutions. After a thorough introduction on energy and global warming, our reliance on fossils fuels is explained. Fascinating topics such as reinventing transportation energy and achieving a clean-energy economy are richly explored.
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Green Technology by
Featuring such disciplines as nanoscience, biochemistry, information technology and environmental engineering, in 150 articles this volume explores the essential role of technology in developments towards a sustainable environment.
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Handbook of Renewable Energy Technology by
This text provides a comprehensive coverage of renewable energy technologies, such as wind, wave and solar thermal energy. Other industrial terms like photovoltaic systems, biomass, distributed generations and small hydro power stations are also discussed and further elaborated upon.
Publication Date: 2011-01-26
Handbook of Research on Renewable Energy and Electric Resources for Sustainable Rural Development by
To maintain a healthy ecosystem for contemporary society and for future generations, policies must be implemented to protect the environment. This can be achieved by consistent evaluation of new initiatives and strategies. The Handbook of Research on Renewable Energy and Electric Resources for Sustainable Rural Development is a critical scholarly resource that examines efficient use of electric resources and renewable energy sources which have a positive impact on sustainable development. Featuring coverage on cogeneration thermal modules, photovoltaic (pv) solar, and renewable energy systems (RES) application practices, this publication is geared towards academics, practitioners, professionals, and upper-level students interested in the latest research on renewable energy and electric resources for sustainable rural development.
Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Handbook of Sustainable Energy by
Major contemporary issues and debates relating to the sustainable use of energy are addressed in this far-reaching Handbook. The contributing authors discuss the ongoing debates about sustainability and energy use, energy economics, renewable energy, efficiency and climate policy.New and original chapters from leading academics cover the full spectrum of relevant research including: definitions of sustainability in energy use; consumer behaviour and energy markets; the impacts of innovation and new technologies; energy economics and climate modelling; low carbon economies and renewable energies. The authors critically engage with perspectives from developed and developing countries from both global and regional standpoints.This Handbook will make a timely and important contribution to the study of energy, climate change and climate economics, and will prove essential reading for international researchers in the fields of natural resources, climate change and energy. Students in environmental science faculties, economics departments, business schools and engineering schools will also find this important and enriching compendium insightful. Similarly, policy-makers in energy and environment ministries and international organizations will find much topical debate to engage them.
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources by
This volume provides an insightful overview of renewable and alternative energy technologies and policies in the United States and around the world. * A chronology of technological developments, events, and policies related to renewable and alternative energy * A glossary of renewable and alternative energy related concepts including Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion (OTEC), net metering, and stages of technology development
Publication Date: 2008-08-13
The World Scientific Handbook of Energy by
Competition for energy resources worldwide will almost certainly increase because of population growth and economic expansion, especially in countries such as China and India, with large populations. In addition, environmental concerns with the use of certain energy sources add a complicating factor to decisions about energy use. Therefore there is likely to be an increased commitment around the world to invest in energy systems.The World Scientific Handbook of Energy provides comprehensive, reliable and timely sets of data on energy resources and uses; it gathers in one publication a concise description of the current state-of-the-art for a wide variety of energy resources, including data on resource availability worldwide and at different cost levels. The end use of energy in transportation, residential and industrial areas is outlined, and energy storage, conservation and the impact on the environment included.Experts and key personnel straddling academia and related agencies and industries provide critical data for further exploration and research.Experts in these various areas who provide relevant data for further exploration and research include former Head of the Nuclear Reactors Directorate of the CEA; Director of the Potential Gas Agency, who leads a team of 100 geologists, geophysicists and petroleum engineers; former CEO of an Icelandic engineering company that specializes in the design, construction and operation of "Kalina" binary power plants for geothermal, biomass and industrial waste heat recovery applications; Chairman of the Scottish Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Association; former Director of the Geo-Heat Center at the Oregon Institute of Technology, who received the Patricius Medal from the German Geothermal Association for "his pioneer work in the direct use of geothermal energy"; Division Director of NETL's Strategic Center for Coal, who provides expert guidance and consultation to major DOE-funded clean coal technology and carbon sequestration demonstration projects; an internationally recognized expert in the physics and technology of Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF); former Senior Scientist and Director of the Center for Distributed Generation and Thermal Distribution with Washington State University, who was responsible for state policy, technical assistance to resource developers and investigations related to geothermal energy development; a main author on the 2005 Billion Ton Report and 2011 Billion Ton Update; and many more extremely well published and well known individuals straddling academia and related agencies and industries.
Call Number: TJ163.235 .W65 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-28
World energy crisis a reference handbook by
This book provides a historical background for the world's current energy problems, describing how the Industrial Revolution has led us to the impending end of the "Age of Fossil Fuels," and describes possible solutions for averting a global crisis. * A bibliographic chapter devoted to print and electronic resources on the topic useful to readers interested in continuing their research on world energy issues * Profiles of individuals and organizations with special interests in the world energy crisis * 20 tables providing relevant data, such as a list of the years various countries hit "peak oil" (the maximum amount of oil produced in a single year) * Primary documents relating to the world energy crisis
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
A supplementary dictionary of renewable energy and sustainability by
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability consists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation. It includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fuelled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
Publication Date: 2013
A dictionary of energy science by
This dictionary covers terms related to energy technologies and their impact on the world's energy use. It sets out the principles behind each technology's operation, as well as its economic, environmental, and social impacts. Coverage includes energy demand and conservation, electricity generation and distribution, energy storage, renewable energy and fossil fuel technologies, nuclear energy, environmental issues, energy and society, and biographies of eminent energy scientists. The text is complemented by illustrations, a chronology, and global statistics on energy use.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming by
This work offers complete, authoritative coverage of the science, policy, and social issues surrounding global warming and climate change. ""The Encyclopedia of Global Warming"" provides comprehensive coverage of the questions of global warming and climate change, including scientific descriptions and explanations of all factors, from carbon dioxide to sunspots, that might contribute to climate change. It is designed to provide students at the high school and undergraduate levels with a convenient source of information on fundamental science and sociopolitical issues, including the debates and controversies, surrounding climate change. The study of climate change involves not only scientists but also politicians, policy makers, businesses, government and nongovernment agencies, and the general public. A student attempting to understand both the environmental science and social issues and controversies will encounter not just scientific terms and concepts but political organizations, geographic areas, social concepts, persons, countries, organizations, and laws as well. Each essay in the set falls into one or more of the following broad categories: animals; Arctic and Antarctic; astronomy; chemistry and geochemistry; climatic events and epochs; conferences and meetings; cryology and glaciology; diseases and health effects; economics, industries, and products; energy; environmentalism, conservation, and ecosystems; ethics, human rights, and social justice; fossil fuels; geology and geography; laws, treaties, and protocols; meteorology and atmospheric sciences; nations and people; oceanography; organizations and agencies; physics and geophysics; plants and vegetation; pollution and waste; popular culture and society; science and technology; transportation; and, water resources. The essays in this set range from 400 to 2,000 words in length. They are arranged in one of six types of essay format: 'Term' essays describe a concept and explain its significance for climate change; 'Overview' essays provide broad overviews of a scientific, policy, or social phenomenon or debate; 'Organization' essays provide the date of establishment of an organization and discuss its mission and significance for climate change; 'Biographical' essays provide biographical information on people, followed by descriptions of their life and climate work; and, 'Top-Twenty Emitter' essays provide information on each of the twenty nations with the highest annual emissions of greenhouse gases - they also provide discussions of the historical and political context of the nation's climatic impact. 'Law and Treaty' essays provide the date of passage or ratification of the law and protocol, as well as lists of all participating nations, and continue with discussions of background, summary of provisions, and significance for climate change.
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Environmental Issues, Global Perspectives
This practical work demonstrates that controlling urban growth and reviving central city economies are not mutually exclusive endeavors. Rather than re-hash theories of urban development, the contributors describe and evaluate successful community-tested approaches to sustaining cities.
Publication Date: 2011-05-13
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politics by
The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politics surveys the broad range of environmental and sustainability challenges in the emerging Anthropocene and scrutinizes available concepts, methodological tools, theories and approaches, as well as overlaps with adjunct fields of study. This comprehensive reference work, written by some of the most eminent academics in the field, contains 68 entries on numerous aspects across 7 thematic areas, including concepts and definitions; theories and methods; actors; institutions; issue-areas; cross-cutting questions; and overlaps with non-environmental fields. With this broad approach, the volume seeks to provide a pluralistic knowledge base of the research and practice of global environmental governance and politics in times of increased complexity and contestation. Providing its readers with a unique point of reference, as well as stimulus for further research, this Encyclopedia is an indispensable tool for anyone interested in the politics of the environment, particularly students, teachers and researchers.
Publication Date: 2015-11-27
The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy by
The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy presents an authoritative and comprehensive overview of global policy on climate and the environment. It combines the strengths of an interdisciplinary team of experts from around the world to explore current debates and the latest thinking in the search for global environmental solutions. Explores the environmental challenges we currently face, and the concepts and approaches to solving these Questions the role of global actors, institutions and processes, and considers the links between global climate and environment policy, and that of the global economy Highlights the connections between social science research and global policy Brings together authoritative coverage of recent research by internationally-renowned experts from around the world, including from North America, Europe, and Asia Provides an essential resource guide for students and researchers from across a wide range of related disciplines - from politics and international relations, to environmental sciences and sociology - and for global policy practitioners
Publication Date: 2013-04-29
The Oxford Companion to Global Change by
The Oxford Companion to Global Change is an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. In one convenient volume, the Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations betweentechnological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. It is an essential reference work for students, teachers, researchers, and other professionals seeking to understand any aspect of global change.
Publication Date: 2008-11-21
Encyclopedia of Global Change by
Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, the Encyclopedia of Global Change is the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. Containing over 300 original, signed articles by distinguished scholars, it isthe comprehensive work for this multi-discipline, high-profile field.The Encyclopedia synethsizes current knowledge on natural and human-made changes in the Earth's physical , chemical, and biological systems and the effects of these changes on society. Areas such as altered ecosystems, climate change, food supply, water production and consumption, population, andthe political impact of global change are covered in detail. And the clearly written articles also include responses to global modification, agreements and associations, institutions, policies, biographies, and case studies.Enhanced by 1,500 illustrations, extensive cross-references, bibliographies, and an index, the Encyclopedia of Global Change links essential knowledge across many fields-geography, geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, political science, economics, technology, and others-in a resource that isboth accessible and authoritative. The jargon-free language makes it an excellent work for the professional scholar as well as the interested general reader.
Publication Date: 2001-12-13
Climate Change by
Climate Change is a collection of a number of papers as well as chapters about the science of the subject. This collection is meant to inflame and excite conversation among engineers and scientists with society at large. It would serve as a catalyst for a three-credit course as a relatively new engineering subject to both engineering and non-engineering university students. As university education develops to better prepare future leaders to appreciate science, technology, engineering and mathematics, engineering courses for a mix of engineering and non-engineering majors, are essential and so is the requirement of worthy textbooks. This monograph intends to be one of the useful tools available for this timely topic. The wide range of topics includes climate change and theories, the second law of thermodynamics, the global greenhouse effect, anthropogenic heat release, evidence around us owing to environmental change, sea level rise, jungles and forests, heat islands, atmospheric carbon dioxide removal via technology, nanotechnology and other innovations in response to climate change, the energy-water-food nexus.
Publication Date: 2015-12-23
Climate Change by
Each title in this colorful series discusses an issue that either is part of students' lives or is likely affecting someone they know. Presenting multiple sides to current issues, each title distinguishes itself through its dedicated focus on concerns that today's middle and high school students deal with regularly, such as underage drinking and obesity.
Publication Date: 2011-02-18
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change by
This book covers changes affecting the earth over geological, intermediate, and short timescales, including pre-Quaternary, Quaternary, Holocene, historical, and current environmental changes. Recent climatic change is a major focus, but other topics covered in detail relate to natural andhuman-induced changes to the lithosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere.
Publication Date: 2001-08-31
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
2008 Best Reference, Library Journal "The impact of global warming is rapidly evolving. This valuable resource provides an excellent historical overview and framework of this topic and serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects. A useful reference for a wide audience of business professionals and government officials as well as for the general public; essential for both academic and public libraries." -Library Journal "This is a useful set because of the individual country entries as well as the general-audience language . . ." - Booklist (Starred Review) The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Key Features Contains a 4-color, 16-page insert that is a comprehensive introduction to the complexities of global warming Includes coverage of the science and history of climate change, the polarizing controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change Emphasizes the importance of the effects, responsibilities, and ethics of climate change Presents contributions from leading scholars and institutional experts in the geosciences Serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provides a primarily nonscientific resource
Publication Date: 2008-04-22
Global Ethics and Climate Change by
Global Ethics and Climate Change combines the science of climate change with ethical critique to expose its impact, the increasing intensity of dangerous trends - particularly growing global affluence, material consumption and pollution - and the intensifying moral dimensions of changes to theenvironment. It shows you that global justice is vital to mitigating climate change.
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Rough Guide to Climate Change by
The Rough Guide to Climate Changegives the complete picture of the single biggest issue facing the planet. Cutting a swathe through scientific research and political debate, this completely updated 3rd edition lays out the facts and assesses the options - global and personal - for dealing with the threat of a warming world. The guide looks at the evolution of our atmosphere over the last 4.5 billion years and what computer simulations of climate change reveal about our past, present and future. This updated edition includes scientific findings that have emerged since the 2007 report from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), as well as background on recent controversies and an updated politics section that reflects post-Copenhagen developments. Discover how rising temperatures and sea levels, plus changes to extreme weather patterns, are already affecting life around the world. The Rough Guide to Climate Changeunravels how governments, scientists and engineers plan to tackle the problem and includes information on what you can do to help.
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters by
UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters, Second Edition, is a revision and update of the 2008 edition that presents comprehensive, up-to-date information on weather and climate basics, weather conditions and phenomena, natural disasters, forecasting, and human influences on weather and climate. Approximately 300 entries, arranged alphabetically across a five volume set, introduce students to the science behind the topics in clear, nontechnical language. The title presents topics relevant in the science classroom and also looks at societal, political, and technological aspects of weather, climate, and natural disasters, including tornadoes, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, and tsunamis. Features include approximately 280 full-color photos, illustrations, and maps; "Words to Know" and sidebars with interesting facts in each entry; suggested experiments; and a cumulative index. Primary audience is students and educators in middle schools. Features and Benefits *As Earth's weather and climate reality evolves, students will need up to date, easy to understand information on the topic. * Meets the needs of middle school students for more information than the many small topical weather books by elementary publishers provide, at a more accessible level than those aimed at high school students and beyond. * Explores weather, climate, and natural disaster topics relevant in the science classroom and also looks at the societal, political, and technological aspects of the topics, providing a cross-disciplinary view of the issues. * Hands-on experiments in some entries and front matter encourage students to go beyond memorization of factual data and utilize evidence-based reasoning to come to conclusions.
Publication Date: 2016-01-27
Handbook on Urbanization and Global Environmental Change by
This volume provides a comprehensive overview of the interactions and feedbacks between urbanization and global environmental change. A key focus is the examination of how urbanization influences global environmental change, and how global environmental change in turn influences urbanization processes.nbsp;nbsp;It has four thematic foci: Theme 1 addresses the pathways through which urbanization drives global environmental change. Theme 2 addresses the pathways through which global environmental change affects the urban system. Theme 3 addresses the interactions and responses within the urban system in response to global environmental change. Theme 4 centers on critical emerging research.
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Climate change a reference handbook by
An accessible introduction to climate change that outlines key scientific, economic, and political issues, reviews how the global community has addressed the issue to date, and discusses the options being explored for further action. * Numerous primary source documents including excerpts from important early scientific articles on climate change, global climate treaties, the 2007 Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change assessment reports, and statements from academics, businesses, religious groups, and more * A rich variety of graphics help readers understand current and expected impacts of climate change, as well as the latest data and ideas from the scientific community on the subject of global climate change
Publication Date: 2009-03-03
A Dictionary of Climate Change and the Environment by
A Dictionary of Climate Change and the Environment bridges the gap between the many disciplines encompassing climate change, environmental economics, environmental sciences, and environmental studies.It defines a comprehensive set of over 3700 words used across these fields to help policy makers, students, and professionals achieve a holistic view of environmental issues. The Dictionary also features: introductory primers to major topic areas; recommended reading for particular topics and specific words or concepts; and seven appendices, including a catalog of scientific symbols, units, and conversions, as well as an expansive listing and description of selected environmental treaties. The extensive and accessible nature of the content renders this book an indispensable reference for practitioners requiring an informed and balanced description of key concepts and issues.This resource will be extremely valuable to policymakers and professionals working on climate change and other environmental issues, and to postgraduate and undergraduate students in climate change and environmental studies, as well as to academics and other practitioners working on multidisciplinary environmental issues outside their areas of expertise.
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
The Atlas of Global Conservation by
Visually rich, up-to-date, and authoritative, The Atlas of Global Conservation is a premier resource for everyone concerned about the natural world. Drawing from the best data available, it is an unprecedented guide to the state of the planet and our most pressing resource and environmental issues. Top scientists at The Nature Conservancy, the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and water, have joined forces to create this extraordinary reference. It features 79 richly-detailed, fullcolor maps and other graphics paired with an informative, inviting discussion of major trends across the world's terrestrial, marine, and freshwater environments. Interspersed throughout, essays by noted international authorities point the way forward in confronting some of our greatest conservation challenges. * The most comprehensive single volume on global environmental conservation and future sustainability * Includes the latest data on environmental threats, such as climate change, water use, habitat protection, deforestation and overfishing * Full-color maps and graphics are designed to facilitate sideby-side comparisons, empowering readers to draw their own conclusions * Brings together information that has been widely dispersed across myriad publications and databases in a format thatinvites evaluation and application * Supporting data is available on an accompanying website
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Conservation refers to the careful and controlled use of natural resources for the purpose of extending the time they are available as well as retaining biodiversity. This book explores aspects of conservation, particularly the conservation of plant life upon which ecosystems are built.
Conservation and Environmentalism by
"Focusing on problems and solutions, this authoritative reference work covers all aspects of the environment, from the Everglades to the Himalayas, from legislation in Australia to pollution problems in Eastern Europe, from tropical rain forests to the Porcupine Caribou herd of the Alaskan and Canadian Arctic." "Some of the best-known environmental professionals from 14 countries around the world have written original articles for this multidisciplinary Encyclopedia, including Norman Myers, Eugene C. Hargrove, Reed F. Noss, Max Oelschlaeger, J. Baird Callicott, George Sessions, M. S. Swaminathan, Gilbert F. White, Michael E. Kraft, Michael P. Cohen, Paul Ekins, and many others."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Environment Management Technology by
This book is written by practitioners and experts with day to day experience to support the work of managers, engineers and administrators in the protection of the environment. The current terminology in environmental management and technology has been compiled both in English and in Chinese. Both specialists and laymen will profit from this glossary that reflects the modern state-of-the-art. It will also help to promote better communication and understanding in technology transfer to Chinese speaking countries. The glossary includes over one thousand terms on various aspects of environmental management: analysis, biology, ecology, management, legislation, and pollution control technology for air, water and wastes. The focus of the glossary is on environmental protection as part of sustainable development. To make the glossary complete, terms on noise protection and safety management are also included. Background information are also provided wherever needed.
Publication Date: 1997-06-20
One of the most troubling aspects of pollution in this age is its pervasiveness - there are few places left where a person or an animal can live without being exposed to pollution. This book provides research in the field of environmental medicine. It focuses on specific toxin categories as well as the health effects of various types of pollution.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup by
A concise up-to-date guide to all aspects of environmental pollution and cleanup. Human invention and innovation have brought about tremendous improvements in the quality of life of millions of people around the world today-but progress has its price. Environmental pollution is rapidly attacking the Earth's ecosphere. While advances have been made and new disciplines have emerged to identify, monitor, regulate, and compensate for environmental pollutants, it will take the combined efforts of numerous specialists to solve the problem. It will also take the efforts of an informed public that, through its voting and buying habits, has the power to determine whether or not the threat to our environment can be contained. This 2-volume encyclopedia provides all readers, regardless of scientific background or training, with a working knowledge of contemporary issues in environmental pollution and cleanup. Based on Wiley's critically acclaimed, 8-volume Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation, this compact A-to-Z reference features the same breadth and quality of coverage-and clarity of presentation-found in the original. It includes: * Over 200 self-contained, thoroughly cross-referenced articles on essential aspects of environmental pollution and cleanup. * Coverage of key topics in hazardous waste, air pollution control, biosphere pollution, health effects, nuclear waste, environmental law and regulation, water reclamation, and more. * Integrated coverage of both legal and policy issues and technological and environmental concerns. * Hundreds of photographs, figures, charts, and tables that help illustrate major points, explain difficult material, and summarize important data. * Bibliographic entries keyed to the text that list sources of additional information on selected topics. This book is an ideal reference for high school and college students and a convenient resource for scientists, environmental consultants, and anyone who needs clear, reliable, up-to-date information on environmental pollution and cleanup.
Publication Date: 1999-04-05
Help your readers explore the various issues surrounding pollution. This book presents a diversity of opinion on each topic, including both conservative and liberal points of view in an even balance. Readers will explore whether pollution levels are deadly, and whether the promises of clean coal are real. They will consider the E.P.A's endangerment ruling, and whether solar energy is pollution free. Essayist Peyton Knight states that Federal regulations have gone too far in regulating water quality while Craig Cox states the opposite. Critical thinking skills are activated and your readers will decide how they feel about it themselves through intelligent viewpoints.
Publication Date: 2010-04-09
Achieving Sustainability by
Sustainable development is essential to a future of reduced human suffering, higher quality of life, and ongoing sustenance for the planet's ecosystems. Designed to increase understanding, inform actions, enrich academic assignments, and enhance research, Macmillan's Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, And Practices is a reference work intended to meet the needs of students and educators in high schools, community colleges, and four-year colleges, as well as the interested layperson. Aimed at readers who are not experts in the field, the material is relevant to courses in natural sciences, social sciences, and the humanities; indeed, this title presents and analyzes the underpinnings of the multi-disciplinary concept of sustainability. A two-volume encyclopedia containing more than 130 signed entries, Achieving Sustainability covers economic and environmental ideas, as well as governance, demographic, and socio-cultural aspects of the concept. KEY POINTS *Each of the more than 130 signed articles will discuss current trends and historical background on the topic, key figures involved in the topic, policy implications, and resources for engagement. *Many entries will include one or more sidebars that highlight a person or organization, or provide a case study relevant to the topic. *Other entries will include charts, graphs, or photographs to further illustrate trends, locations, and important events. *All entries provide cross references to related entries in the encyclopedia and a bibliography of print and electronic resources either cited in the entry and/or to aid in further research. *Additional features of the encyclopedia include a thematic outline, which provides context and shows relationships among the subjects covered in the encyclopedia,a listing of relevant important documents found on the Web, a list of organizations for further information and opportunity for public involvement,and a glossary covering key terms and acronyms in sustainable development. *Also included will be a comprehensive subject index, covering subjects, personal names, geographic locations, and other relevant terms to aid the user in navigating the encyclopedia.
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 1: The Spirit of Sustainability by
The Spirit of Sustainability maps out the values territory, helping readers understand the moral worlds, axial concepts, social practices, and major topics related to sustainability. Coverage ranges widely, from the promise and problems of global and indigenous religions to major theories in philosophy and environmental ethics, and then to professional practices and social movements. As a whole, the volume describes the various goals of sustainability¿ecological integrity, economic health, human dignity, fairness to the future, social justice¿as well as interpretive frameworks for reasoning through their combined challenge.
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 2: The Business of Sustainability
Contributing authors highlight the value-creation opportunities in their respective areas, providing a body of shared knowledge to be updated in the years ahead. This volume is a core resource for business and economics students, policy makers, members of the development community, entrepreneurs, and corporate executives. It¿s a rich analysis of how sustainability is being factored into industries across the globe, with enlightening case studies of businesses that are serving as agents of change.
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 3: The Law and Politics of Sustainability
The Law and Politics of Sustainability, Volume 3 of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, explores efforts made to address pressing environmental concerns through legislation, conventions, directives, treaties, and protocols. Articles explain the mechanics of environmental law, the concepts that shape sustainable development, case studies and rulings that have set precedents, approaches to sustainable development taken by legal systems around the world, and more. Experts and scholars in the field raise provocative questions about the effectiveness of international law versus national law in protecting the environment, and about the effect of current laws on future generations. They analyze the successes and shortcomings of present legal instruments, corporate and public policies, social movements, and conceptual strategies, offering readers a preview of the steps necessary to develop laws and policies that will promote genuine sustainability.
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 4: Natural Resources and Sustainability by
Natural Resources and Sustainability explores how human needs and desires, from sustenance and shelter to recreation and travel, have spurred the consumption of Earth's material resources. Scientists, ecologists, social scientists, and other expert authors focus on innovative approaches to sustainable resource management while encouraging readers to examine underlying assumptions and motivations of unsustainable use in the past. Contributors also present the historical impact of commercial activities, discuss traditional and contemporary processes that have affected the global distribution and use pattern of a particular resource; and outline concepts and theories that are particularly relevant to resource use; preservation; and restoration.
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 5: Ecosystems Management and Sustainability by
Ecosystem ​Management and Sustainability​​ not only analyzes human-​initiated processes and tools that foster sustainable natural resource use, preservation, and restoration but examines as well how humans interact​ with plant, marine, and animal life in both natural and human-altered environments. Experts in the field explain complex relationships among non-human species-endangered,​ endemic, and invasive-by addressing topics such as biogeography, native habitat buffers, and rain gardens. But because most people in the 21st century live in urban environments, the volume pays special attention to the ecology of cities with detailed coverage on topics ranging from green belts to landscape architecture. The volume's 120 articles examine in detail how ecosystems of all kinds can be made healthy and sustainable.
Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 6: Measurements, Indicators, and Research Methods for Sustainability by
Measurements, Indicators, and Research Methods for Sustainability presents a thorough and accessible overview of the ways in which sustainability is charted worldwide. Some articles introduce basic concepts, such as quantitative versus qualitative data or the weak versus strong sustainability debate; others examine how indicators in specific areas (climate change, soil conservation, agriculture and mining) have been applied (or not) to different regions. Research analysts explain the modes and media through which these measurements are broadcast, stressing the importance of developing methods that can be understood by both experts and ordinary citizens. They also examine the process of monitoring, itself a controversial topic affecting national or international policy, law, rules, and regulations.
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 7: China, India, and East and Southeast Asia: Assessing Sustainability
China, India, and East and Southeast Asia: Assessing Sustainability, Volume 7 of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, provides unprecedented analyses by regional experts and scholars elsewhere in the world on China, India, and their neighbors. Despite growing demands internally on their natural resources (China and India alone are home to more than one-third of the world's population), the expanding global economic influence of this region makes these countries vital players in a sustainable future for all citizens of the Earth. Regional coverage includes topics such as business and commerce, environmental and corporate law, and lifestyles and values.
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 8: The Americas and Oceania: Assessing Sustainability by
The Americas and Oceania: Assessing Sustainability, Volume 8 of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, provides extensive coverage of sustainability practices in two regions linked culturally and historically by their relative isolation before the Columbian exchange, by their colonization after it, and by the challenges of pollution, resource overuse, and environmental degradation. Regional experts and international scholars focus on environmental history in areas such as the South Pacific islands, now particularly threatened by rising ocean levels due to climate change, and on countries whose governments and corporations can play a major role in promoting or discouraging sustainable choices: Brazil, an emergent power on the world stage; the United States, the world's third most populous nation; and New Zealand, seemingly on its way to becoming an enviable model of sustainable development.
Publication Date: 2012-10-31
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 9: Afro-Eurasia: Assessing Sustainability
Afro-Eurasia: Assessing Sustainability, Volume 9 of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, focuses on the geographic area where humans originated and first began to make use of the natural world - Earth's largest landmass, stretching from Portugal in the west across the steppes of Russia and south across Africa to the Cape of Good Hope. By examining the history of human expansion, as well as 21st century pressures to address ecosystem damage across the region, international scholars and regional experts weave sustainability into core curricular subjects. The interdisciplinary coverage includes national and regional environmental histories, as well as business and commerce, migration, educational institutions, law and government, and the lifestyles of diverse populations.
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability - Vol. 10: The Future of Sustainability by
The Future of Sustainability, the tenth and final volume of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, brings together essays from a group of renowned scholars and well-known environmentalist thinkers. Crucial topics are considered in terms of the future of humanity and its relationship with the natural world, from the outlook for nuclear energy, cities, energy, agriculture, water, food security, mobility, and migration; the role of higher education; and the concept of collective learning. The volume concludes with a resource guide for teaching materials at several levels, a directory of leading undergraduate- and graduate-level programs in sustainability, and a combined index of the 10-volume set.
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
This three-volume encyclopedia explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice. * Includes biological sketches of important leaders including Mohammad Yunnus, Wangari Maathai, and Karl Henrik RobËrt * Offers over 50 illustrations and drawings and a variety of helpful maps * Appendices of original documents not easily located otherwise * A guide to related topics opens each volume, allowing quick reference to entries by theme *A "Definitions and Contexts" section unique to each volume provides readers with a crash course in the often complex language of sustainability
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
Rough guide to sustainability : a design primer by
The comprehensively updated and expanded new edition of this no-nonsense student and practice primer equips the contemporary architect to deal with the profession's most important challenge: designing buildings for sustainability. Brian Edwards' book pulls together many of the disparate, complex strands of sustainability into one simple reference source. It sets out the environmental, professional and governmental context underlying sustainable principles, as well as outlining the science, measures and design solutions that designers need to adopt. The third edition includes updated design advice on offices, schools, housing and urban design, provides a useful history of green architecture education and presents a guide to the international conventions and agreements from the Rio Summit to Kyoto and the more recent UN Climate Change conference held in Poznan in 2008. It also includes new material prepared in anticipation of fresh international agreements at the Copenhagen Conference on Global Warming held in 2009. Stunningly redesigned and extensively illustrated throughout, 'Rough Guide to Sustainability' will appeal to design and built environment students and professionals, and anyone keen to cut through to the avalanche of facts and myths about sustainability.
Publication Date: 2010-03-24
The early 21st century may someday be looked upon as a pivotal point in the Earth's history. At its most dramatic, this era might someday be thought of as the beginning of the end. This work describes the innovations that may likely play a role in the near future for creating a critical mass in the environment's favor.
Routledge International Handbook of Sustainable Development by
This Handbook gives a comprehensive, international and cutting-edge overview of Sustainable Development. It integrates the key imperatives of sustainable development, namely institutional, environmental, social and economic, and calls for greater participation, social cohesion, justice and democracy as well as limited throughput of materials and energy. The nature of sustainable development and the book¿s theorization of the concept underline the need for interdisciplinarity in the discourse as exemplified in each chapter of this volume. The Handbook employs a critical framework that problematises the concept of sustainable development and the struggle between discursivity and control that has characterised the debate. It provides original¿contributions from international experts coming from a variety of disciplines and regions, including the Global South. Comprehensive in scope, it covers, amongst other areas: Sustainable architecture and design Biodiversity Sustainable business¿ Climate change Conservation Sustainable consumption De-growth Disaster management Eco-system services Education Environmental justice Food and sustainable development Governance Gender Health Indicators for sustainable development Indigenous perspectives Urban transport The Handbook offers researchers and students in the field of sustainable development invaluable insights into a contested concept and the alternative¿worldviews¿that it has fostered.¿
Publication Date: 2015-03-11
The Ethics of the Global Environment by
Learn how ethical principles and concepts apply to global environmental problems.This fully updated and expanded textbook gives you new reflections on global environmental issues. It looks at issues including climate change, sustainable development and biodiversity preservation, and sensitively addresses global developments such as the Summits at Durban on climate and at Nagoyaon biodiversity. Robin Attfield gives an ethical critique of current international environmental problems and negotiations, and explains how international regimes will need to change to be able to cope with global environmental problems.
Publication Date: 2015-03-01