Guides: Environment Studies: Mobile Apps

Apps

IOS
Android

#climate Share #climate actions with your Twitter and Facebook followers to create a climate change movement! #climate gathers all the most impactful climate change actions from a curated list of organizations to make it easy for you to find the best actions and tell the world. We also give you the stats to gauge your own personal impact. Testimonials “#climate has been an incredible tool for Rainforest Trust, helping connect us to new audiences through the support of major climate influencers. Our first Action was promoted by Guns N' Roses and reached millions on Facebook and Twitter. By harnessing the power of social media in new, innovative ways, #climate has the potential to play an important role in effectively addressing climate change.” - Joe Lowe, Rainforest Trust “#climate helped us take our anti-fracking campaign to a new level by getting the word out to hundreds of thousands of new people. Connecting environmental campaigns to cultural leaders, to the people that follow them is a brilliant idea.” - Clayton Norman, Center for Biological Diversity “#climate has amazing potential to elevate the work organizations are doing to build the climate movement and create real change to address global warming. In just the first few weeks of using the tool, Sierra Club has already gotten results driving action with new audiences on some of our most critical issues.” - Marie Bergen, Sierra Club
Earth-Now NASA's Earth Now is an application that visualizes recent global climate data from Earth Science satellites, including surface air temperature, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, ozone, and water vapor as well as gravity and sea level variations. Data sets are visually described using "false color" maps. Color-coded legends are provided to indicate relative strength or weakness of an environmental condition. The resulting 3D model of the Earth may be rotated by a single finger stroke, and may also be zoomed in or out by pinching 2 fingers. It was developed by the Earth Science Communications and Visualization Technology Applications and Development Teams at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, with support from NASA Headquarters.
EarthViewer What did Earth’s continents and oceans look like 250 million years ago, or even 1 billion years ago? What do we know about the climate back when our planet formed? How has sea level changed since the melting of the last ice age and what does the future hold? EarthViewer is like a time machine for exploring Earth’s deep history. Based on the latest scientific research, it lets you scroll through the last 4.5 billion years with your fingertips. Follow a favorite landmark, be it Greenland or New York City, as its position shifts through time, or watch a famous fossil like Tiktaalik make an incredible journey from its origin to its current location. Layer your view of shifting continents with data on atmospheric composition, temperature, biodiversity, day length, and solar luminosity, to get a more complete view of our dynamic planet. EarthViewer features include: • Continental reconstructions and accompanying data dating back billions of years • Sea level maps for the last 21,000 year and for 8,000 years into the future • Global temperature maps for the last 100+ years • Ability to manipulate the globe and zoom to any location • Locations of modern cities tracked back over 500 million years • In-depth features on major geological and biological events in Earth history • Clickable details on geologic eons, eras, and periods • Automated play modes • Animations between globe and flat map projections • Extensive reference list • Suggestions for classroom use The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) is a non-profit medical research organization that ranks as one of the nation’s largest philanthropies. HHMI’s BioInteractive initiative opens a window on cutting-edge science through interactive web features, short films, virtual labs, and scientific animations. Since teachers play a pivotal role in launching the careers of future scientists and in helping the public understand the beauty and import of science, the BioInteractive team partners with the teaching community to create and distribute media that is engaging and relevant to the science curriculum.
Global Change The “Global Change app” is an interactive teaching tool for engaging students with the interrelationships between the global carbon and water cycles. It demonstrates the vital role of the stomata in leaves of plants and the impact of human activities on climate change. The app integrates scientific concepts about these ecological processes with design and animation in an engaging and educational way.
IEA KeyWorldEnergyStatistics The International Energy Agency (IEA) is known as the most authoritative source for global energy statistics. The IEA publishes its statistics in a series of annual and quarterly publications as well as through electronic data services. For the first time in 1997, the IEA produced a compilation of its most used statistics in a booklet easily accessible to all – what is now the annual Key World Energy Statistics (KWES). Since then, the booklet has been hugely successful and has become a constant companion of energy analysts and policy makers. Key World Energy Statistics contains timely, clearly presented data on the supply, transformation and consumption of all major energy sources for the main regions of the world. The interested businessperson, journalist or student will have at his or her fingertips the annual Australian production of coal, the electricity production in Japan, the price of diesel oil in Spain and thousands of other useful energy facts. To respond to increasing requests of users, the IEA offers an Windows version of the KWES. With this application, you can access key statistics on more than 130 countries and regions including energy indicators, energy balances, prices, CO2 emissions as well as energy forecasts. A sort function allows the user to rank countries by ascending and descending order according to a selection of indicators and tables can also be personalised by selecting specific countries and indicators. A search feature as well as a quick access menu and a favourites function are also available. Download one of our most popular publications now to have all the energy information you need at your fingertips!
Images Of Change Natural disasters, a warming climate, and human activities are rapidly altering the face of our planet. NASA’s Images of Change app lets you take a close-up view of many of these changes in an exciting and hands-on format. The app presents a curated collection of the best image pairs from NASA’s Global Climate Change website. These image pairs show areas that have been subject to natural disasters or seen significant change over time. Compare Alaska’s Muir Glacier in 1941 to the glacier as it looked in 2004. Take a before-and-after look at flooding in the Missouri River or at wildfires in Colorado. See the expansion of agriculture in Saudi Arabia as viewed from satellites. All photo pairs can be viewed individually, side by side, or overlaid with a slider bar for easy comparisons. Each image pair contains background information and a map showing its location. The images presented in Images of Change are meticulously selected and constantly updated to give you an informative, compelling, and up-to-date visual experience.
JouleBug JouleBug is the easy way to make your everyday habits more sustainable, at home, work, and play. Discover how you and your friends can use resources, without using them up, with this newly designed app. JouleBug organizes sustainability tips into Actions that you Buzz in the app when you do them in real-life. Learn more about each tip with easy-to-understand Impact Stats, Bonuses, How-To Videos, and Helpful Links. Encourage your friends by sharing how you’re making a difference and following what they’re up to in the Feed. Join local Communities for the latest sustainable news, limited-edition Actions and Badges, plus get access to local Challenges. Track your impact with your career stats and fill your Trophy Case. Save money, have fun, and be a little kinder to the planet, with JouleBug! Features: EARN ACHIEVEMENTS -Master Actions by Buzzing when you do it in real-life -You’re awarded Points with each Buzz that correlates to the impact the action has on your wallet and the environment -Earn extra achievements called Badges when you become an expert in the field -Learn more about each action with Stats, Videos, and Links -Localized content helps you find sustainable initiatives near you -Easily discover new Actions by browsing various categories or searching BE SOCIAL -Share what you’re Buzzing to the Feed and Facebook or Twitter -Add Photos to any Buzz -Join local Communities to see what’s happening near you -Like and Comment on others’ stories -Follow your friends or see what’s Trending for JouleBug Nation -Compete in local and national Challenges to see who’s the greenest TRACK YOUR PROGRESS -Career stats show you how many achievements and points you’ve earned -Track your impact with Impact Stats -Fill up your Trophy Case
Renewable Energy Sources The electronic book “Renewable Energy Sources“ presents an introduction to all aspects of electric energy generation using alternative sources that are ever increasing in the electricity producer’s energy portfolio. Water energy is still the most widely used and known renewable energy source. However, power output of wind and solar power plants has also exhibited a pronounced increase in the last few years. Apart from water, solar and wind energy, the book also covers sources using geothermal energy and biomass energy. Brief outline of our publications • Water energy – types of water energy and its usability, dykes and dams, water turbines and power plants, sea energy usability, … • Wind energy – airflow energy, history, wind power plants and farms, types of wind turbines, … • Solar energy – solar collectors and concentrators, tower and farm power plants, photovoltaic panels, … • Earth energy – geothermal effects and systems, geothermal power plants, direct use of heat, … • Biomass energy – biomass processing, available technologies, biofuel, biomass power plants, … • Future of renewable resources – growing energy demand, development of renewable resources, … Each renewable energy source is logically divided describing its history, working principals, technological processes, types of used equipment, as well as characteristics of the largest global power plants. Information is presented using brief and captive form and the text includes many illustrative photo galleries. Important topics and objects are presented using interactive schematics and animated or interactive 3D models in order to facilitate better understanding. Each chapter, apart from the explanatory text, also includes attached multimedia files containing didactic tests that make this publication not just a modern source of interesting information but could be also used for energy education at schools. The final chapter contains contemplation about ever increasing global energy consumption, limited deposits of fossil fuels and future and prospects of presented renewable energy sources. The Renewable Energy Sources publication contains 220 pages of engaging reading including 450 photographs, 68 illustrations, 20 3D models, 24 videos and 13 interactive schematics. Undoubtedly, it is the most extensive multimedia publication on renewable energy sources that you may have in your electronic library, in existence today.

Earth-Now
Environmental Studies
Environmental Studies Quiz
Global Change The “Global Change app” is an interactive teaching tool for engaging students with the interrelationships between the global carbon and water cycles. It demonstrates the vital role of the stomata in leaves of plants and the impact of human activities on climate change. The app integrates scientific concepts about these ecological processes with design and animation in an engaging and educational way.
Global Warming Facts The Mobile App Global Warming Facts is an apt platform from where you can learn the various causes and reasons of Global Warming. This app can inform and educate you at the same time. The facts and figures mentioned in the app information are double cross-checked before uploading. This gives you only the right information without any misleading facts. You cannot just increase your knowledge about the issue but also through this app you can learn about various corrective measures to reduce Global Warming.
Glossary Environmental Science Found some difficult Environmental Terms? You are at right place. Environment dictionary contains explanation of Environemntal terms in simple easy English. Very much useful for the UPSC aspirants. Useful in IAS/IPS and all Civil Services examination.
Learn Environmental Studies Full