Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Case studies show how methods are applied in real research projects.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
The Cambridge Handbook of Play by
Play takes up much of the time budget of young children, and many animals, but its importance in development remains contested. This comprehensive collection brings together multidisciplinary and developmental perspectives on the forms and functions of play in animals, children in different societies, and through the lifespan. The Cambridge Handbook of Play covers the evolution of play in animals, especially mammals; the development of play from infancy through childhood and into adulthood; historical and anthropological perspectives on play; theories and methodologies; the role of play in children's learning; play in special groups such as children with impairments, or suffering political violence; and the practical applications of playwork and play therapy. Written by an international team of scholars from diverse disciplines such as psychology, education, neuroscience, sociology, evolutionary biology and anthropology, this essential reference presents the current state of the field in play research.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health by
The third edition of The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health is a completely updated edition that contains over 65 new entries with a total of 840 entries. The four-volume set provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical and cognitive/behavioral development. It is an appropriate resource for parents, teachers, and allied health students. Features and Benefits *Thematic outline. * The GALE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHILDREN'S HEALTH, 3rd ed. answers consumer questions about children's health from prenatal care through adolescence. * An advisory board helped develop the topic list and review the content.
Handbook of Social Behavior and Skills in Children by
This handbook addresses a broad range of topics relating to children's social behaviors and skills. It examines numerous disorders and problems that are directly affected by excesses and deficits of social skills. The book begins by providing an overview of the history and definition of social skills, citing it as a critical aspect of children's development. Chapters discuss developmental issues, provide theories of social competence, and assemble proven strategies for promoting the growth of social skills and for treating their deficits. The handbook also reviews a variety of methods for assessing various social competencies, including direct and naturalistic observation, skills checklists, self-reports, and functional behavior analysis. In addition, it provides a comprehensive overview of various training methods, including social learning, parent and peer treatments, self-control methods, social skill group programs, and curricula. Topics featured in the Handbook include: Current research and practical strategies for promoting children's social and emotional competence in schools. Social skills in children with autism spectrum disorder. Intellectual disabilities and their effect on social skills. Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder and its effect on the development of social skills in children. Evidence-based methods of dealing with social difficulties in conduct disorder. The Handbook of Social Behavior and Skills in Children is a must-have resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and related therapists and professionals in clinical child and school psychology, pediatrics, social work, developmental psychology, behavioral therapy/rehabilitation, child and adolescent psychiatry, and special education.
International Handbook on Early Childhood Education by
This international handbook gives a comprehensive overview of findings from longstanding and contemporary research, theory, and practices in early childhood education in the Northern and Southern hemispheres. The first volume of the handbook addresses theory, methodology, and the research activities and research needs of particular regions. The second volume examines in detail innovations and longstanding programs, curriculum and assessment, and conceptions and research into child, family and communities. The two volumes of this handbook address the current theory, methodologies and research needs of specific countries and provide insight into existing global similarities in early childhood practices. By paying special attention to what is happening in the larger world contexts, the volumes provide a representative overview of early childhood education practices and research, and redress the current North-South imbalance of published work on the subject.
Literacy Beginnings by
Now aligned to the Expanded Edition of The Fountas & Pinnell Literacy Continuum! Play and language are critical learning tools for the prekindergarten child. Through play and language, they learn about their world and about themselves. Play and language are also the most important tools for early literacy learning. Think of the young child who takes a memo pad and marker around to family members, "taking orders" for dinner. Like all emergent readers and writers, this child makes no distinction between play and literacy-both involve curiosity, excitement, learning, and discovery. In Literacy Beginnings, Irene C. Fountas and Gay Su Pinnell bring their characteristically rich, comprehensive, and practical insights to the frontier of early literacy. They show you how to tap into young children's curiosity to introduce them to the world of literacy in joyful, engaging ways.
SAGE encyclopedia of contemporary early childhood education by
Presents advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as a review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices.
The SAGE handbook of early childhood research by
Recent decades have seen an upsurge of research with and about young children, their families and communities. The Handbook of Early Childhood Research will provide a landmark overview of the field of early childhood research and will set an agenda for early childhood research into the future. It includes 31 chapters provided by internationally recognized experts in early childhood research. The team of international contributors apply their expertise to conceptual and methodological issues in research and to relevant fields of practice and policy. The Handbook recognizes the main contexts of early childhood research: home and family contexts; out-of-home contexts such as services for young children and their families; and broader societal contexts of that evoke risk for young children. The Handbook includes sections on: the field of early childhood research and its key contributions new theories and theoretical approaches in early childhood research collecting and analysing data applications of early childhood research This Handbook will become the valuable reference text for students, practitioners and researchers from across the social sciences and beyond who are engaged in research with young children.
地球上的天堂 : 華德福幼兒教育經典入門書, 全方位感官教育發展 = Heaven on earth : a handbook for parents of young children by
華德福資深幼教教師──夏莉法‧奧本海默，以超過二十年教學經驗，親自解答父母經常遇到的教養問題：孩子哭鬧時該採取的措施？如何讓孩子睡個好覺？如何安排孩子的作息？孩子爭吵時該如何處理？做惡夢怎麼辦？如何培養身心健康的孩子？本書可以教你如何從容面對每天都會有的挑戰，並在遭遇棘手問題時，可以迅速在書中找到因應對策。
柯氏性別關係量表(少年版)指導手冊 by
這是一種評估少年性別關係的量表。本量表的前身乃針對成年性侵害加害人而設計，在實務運作的過程中，我們發現該量表亦可應用在少年身上，因此有此少年版的修訂。在建構的過程，我們不僅針對少年性侵害行為人進行常模的建立，我們也建立一般青少年（包括男、女性）之常模，我們發現在校之一般青少年更能真實呈現本量表之建構，因此本量表亦適用於一般青少年。只要您根據本指導手冊所提供的方法與步驟，相信您亦能很迅速地蒐集到關於少年相關的性心理狀態！