Guides: Science Education: Biology

School Textbooks / Teaching Resources

MMW Library
contains a rich collection in school textbooks and teaching resources. They are intrinsic information for teaching plan development. The below links will direct you to see the location and status of BIOLOGY and LIFE SCIENCES teaching materials in MMW Library.
JUST CLICK BELOW LINK!

School Textbooks and Teaching Resources in BIOLOGY and LIFE SCIENCES

Government Information

Curriculum Documents - SCIENCE EDUCATION
HKSAR Education Bureau [English / 中文]
Includes BIOLOGY (S4-S6)
Glossary for Science Subjects
HKSAR Education Bureau
[English / 中文]
Includes English-Chinese Glossary of Terms Commonly Used in The Teaching of BIOLOGY in Secondary Schools
HKDSE Assessment Information - BIOLOGY
Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority
[English / 中文]

Internet Resources

Basic Biology
BioEd Online
Science Teacher Resources from Baylor College, USA
Biology Classroom Resources
National Science Foundation, USA
Hong Kong Science Museum 香港科學館
[English /中文]
teachingbioproject
YouTube Channel
Teaching Resources - BIOLOGY
HKEdCity

Selected Books, EBooks & Reference Works

The Evolution of Beauty: How Darwin's Forgotten Theory of Mate Choice Shapes the Animal World - and Us

Prum, Richard O; 2017

[Online Access]

Mapping Biology Knowledge

Fisher, Kathleen M.; Wandersee, James H.; Moody, David E.; 2000

生物概念與教學 = Biology Concepts and Teaching

顏瓊芬; 中華民國科學教育學會; 2016

Biology : Concepts & Applications

Starr, Cecie; Evers, Christine A.; Starr, Lisa; 2018

A Dictionary of Biology (7 ed.)

Hine, Robert; Martin, Elizabeth; edited; 2015

[Online Access]

Methods of Teaching Biology

Lakshmi, G. Bhuvaneswara; Rao, K. Subba; Rao, Digumarti Bhaskara; 2004

Selected Databases

BIOLOGY VIDEOS from ALEXANDER STREET
You may click the above link and find biology related videos from ALEXANDER STREET. ALEXANDER STREET is a motion picture database that provide wide-ranging disciplines of videos including BIOLOGY videos.

Cambridge Core - LIFE SCIENCES
Cambridge is one of the leading publishers in ecology and conservation biology and publishes high quality texts and research across the breadth of the life sciences, focusing particularly on animal behaviour, biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, computational and systems biology, as well as statistics and professional development titles for biologists.

Complete Anatomy
An app available on iPad, Mac, and Windows for anatomical learning. It allows users to learn, make note, and interact with a 3D model. AR Mode on iPad running iOS 11 brings the full 3D anatomical model into the real world. Note that Courses are paid items which are not free to use.

Please see the set up procedure here.

Wiley Online Library - LIFE SCIENCE
Your may click the above link to browse information resources related to LIFE SCIENCES provided by Wiley Online Library. It provides sub-topics under this category for your idea exploration. The database covers journal articles, ebooks, and also reference works.

SpingerLink - LIFE SCIENCE
Your may click the above link to browse information resources related to LIFE SCIENCES provided by SpingerLink. The database covers journal articles, ebooks, and also reference works.
Oxford Scholarship Online - BIOLOGY
BIOLOGY section of Oxford Scholarship Online provides you full-text of Oxford books.
Films on Demand - Biology

New Articles

From EBSCOhost - Biology Instruction

Core Journals

Biological Reviews
Cambridge Philosophical Society
ISSN :1464-7931 (Print)
ISSN :1469-185X (Online)

Cell
Cell Press; Elsevier
ISSN : 0092-8674 (Print)
ISSN : 1097-4172 (Online)

Journal of Biological Education
Institute of Biology
ISSN : 0021-9266 (Print)
ISSN : 2157-6009 (Online)