Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Encyclopaedia of educational development by
This encyclopedia offers an up to date account of the way that educational practise at all levels are being deeply impacted and changed by innovation. It provides essential entries covering details insights into the economics, sociology, management and psychology of education but also how education is affected by philosophy, history, web science and Internet Studies. It embraces fields such as collective intelligence, social media and network analysis, artificial intelligence, automation and deep learning. In a single collection, The Encyclopaedia of Educational Innovation brings together world leading researchers to guide readers through the complex and fascinating debates between innovation as the most dominant discourses of the knowledge economy and new cultural and sharing economics promoting social and open dimensions as a means of fostering international competitiveness and developing platforms for creativity and innovation. Educational innovation provides models that have the power to radically transform education and pedagogy as educational institutions become less like factories in the industrial age and more like a Google workplace in the knowledge age.
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by
This encyclopaedia is a dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise. This is an encyclopaedia that is truly global and while focused mainly on the Western tradition is also respectful and representative of other knowledge traditions. It professes to understand the globalization of knowledge. It is unique in the sense that it is based on theoretical orientations and approaches to the main concepts and theories in education, drawing on the range of disciplines in the social sciences. The encyclopaedia privileges the "theory of practice", recognizing that education as a discipline and activity is mainly a set of professional practices that inherently involves questions of power and expertise for the transmission, socialization and critical debate of competing norms and values.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability in Higher Education by
This encyclopedia serves as a tool to support universities across the world to implement sustainable development in higher education in a number of key areas, such as: 1. Policy-making, visioning, structures, management and strategies 2. Teaching, learning and competencies 3. Research and transformation 4. Campus greening, design, operations and carbon impacts 5. Students and stakeholders´ initiatives and involvement The encyclopedia will be of special interest to administrators and managers at higher education institutions; academic staff (e.g. lecturers, professors, researchers); technical staff and students. Also, other groups working outside higher education, but interested on the theory and practice of sustainable development, will find its contents useful.
Encyclopedia of Teacher Education by
This encyclopaedia is a dynamic and living reference that student teachers, teacher educators, researchers and professionals in the field of education with an accent on all aspects of teacher education, including: teaching practice; initial teacher education; teacher induction; teacher development; professional learning; teacher education policies; quality assurance; professional knowledge, standards and organisations; teacher ethics; and research on teacher education, among other issues. The Encyclopedia is an authoritative work by a collective of leading world scholars representing different cultures and traditions, the global policy convergence and counter-practices relating to the teacher education profession. The accent will be equally on teaching practice and practitioner knowledge, skills and understanding as well as current research, models and approaches to teacher education.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education by
Higher Education is in a state of ferment. People are seriously discussing whether the medieval ideal of the university as being excellent in all areas makes sense today, given the number of universities that we have in the world. Student fees are changing the orientation of students to the system. The high rate of non repayment of fees in the UK is provoking difficult questions about whether the current system of funding makes sense. There are disputes about the ratio of research to teaching, and further discussions about the international delivery of courses.