Skip to Main Content

Welcome New Students

A guide with everything you need to start using Library's services and resources at EdUHK Library

iSearch

iSearch, the Library catalogue
iSearch is a single search platform for finding Library books, journals, media resources, course reserves, articles, HKALL and more. Watch this short video to learn more about iSearch.

Finding Physical & Electronic Collections

The EdUHK Library's physical collections comprise a diverse range of resources spanning multiple disciplines:

Physical Collections Location

    Circulation Collection

 MMW Library – 2/F, 3/F, 4/F; Tseung Kwan O Study Centre Library
    Children's Literature Collection (CLC) MMW Library – 1/F
     EdUHK Collection Circulation Counter
    EIH Collection MMW Library – LP/F
   Media Resources Collection MMW Library – 3/F
  Newspaper Collection MMW Library – G/F & 4/F
    Reference Collection MMW Library – 2/F
    Reserve Collection MMW Library – G/F (Quiet Zone); Tseung Kwan O Study Centre Library
   Serials Collection MMW Library  4/F;  Tseung Kwan O Study Centre Library
  Teaching Resources Collection MMW Library – 2/F
   University Archives Closed Stacks 
Education Resource Centre (Hong Kong Public Libraries) 9th Floor of the Kowloon Public Library, 5 Pui Ching Road, Kowloon

Please refer to the loan quotas and loan periods for more information.

Search iSearch now by typing your search into the box below:

 

 

To locate and borrow books from the Library, it's important to follow a few simple steps.

  1. You'll need to determine the floor location and Call Number of the book you're looking for.
  2. Once you have the floor location and Call Number, you can check the floor plan.
  3. Locate the book on the shelf by the alphabetical letter and then the numbers.

EdUHK Library has a vast and comprehensive collection of electronic resources, including but not limited to e-books, full-text electronic journals, theses, and newspapers:

    Database A-Z                             EdUHK Archives                       EdUHK Research Repository

             

 EdUHK Collection                       EdVideo                                    E-Newspapers

                                                                                             

  Hong Kong Education Bibliographic Database                     Hong Kong Education Image Database

  • Location: Shows the location of an item within the Library.
  • Call Number: Assigned to each book provides a specific location on the shelf where the book can be found. 
  • Status: Shows whether the item is currently checked out or available on the shelf.
  • Locate: Shows the location map.

If you can't find a book on the shelf, just come and ask at the Information Counter (G/F) for help!

Our 'Library Challenges' video series is a comprehensive resource for developing effective library searching skills across different types of materials. Each of the four videos focuses on a specific type of resource, including library books, peer-reviewed articles, news, and dissertations. 

Get Resources Beyond Our Library

Through Hong Kong Academic Library Link (HKALL), eligible EdUHK library users can request books from other UGC-funded libraries online (excluding serials, media and other non-print materials). 

JULAC Library Cards allow cardholders to have access to other UGC-funded libraries. There are two kinds of cards that provide borrowing or reading privileges as follows:

  •   Borrower Card - For faculty and postgraduate students, allows you to borrow items from other UGC libraries
  •   Reader Card - For UGC-funded undergraduate students, allows entry to other UGC libraries only

Students and staff can obtain materials which are not available in the EdUHK Library via our enhanced Inter-library Loan (ILL – for books) and Document Delivery Services (DDS – for book chapters and journal articles).