Skip to main content

Free Online Resources Provided by Publishers during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Home

Free Online Resources Provided by Publishers during the COVID-19 Pandemic

As universities switch to online teaching modes, more and more publishers are responding to the COVID-19 pandemic and offer support to university libraries by opening up their e-resources during this difficult period.  This guide lists online resources made available by publishers and vendors at no cost to support faculty members and students for the remainder of the semester.

Academic Video Online

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_avon

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost.

Amazon Audible Stories

Amazon Audible Stories provides incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.
 

American Physical Society

Many physics instructors have suddenly found themselves in an unprecedented situation: their institutions are immediately transitioning to a completely online format. Find strategies and lists of resources to get started:

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has made their journals available to all (without access control) through 30 April 2020. On that date, the publisher will assess the need to extend this policy.

Bloomsbury Collections

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_bloomsbury

Delivers online access to scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s award-winning Academic division. Spanning the humanities and social sciences, the site features the latest research publications from Bloomsbury, T&T Clark and the Arden Shakespeare, alongside scholarship from historic imprints Continuum, Berg and Bristol Classical Press. Free access is available until 30 June 2020.

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_becs

A new digital platform offering systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world. Free access is available until 30 June 2020.

Cambridge Companions

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_camcompanions

Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides written by leading experts, offering lively and accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. There are over 600 companion titles and 4,000 essays, as well as bibliographies published with the intention not only to offer a comprehensive overview of their chosen topic, but to display and provoke lively and controversial debate. Free access is available until 31 May 2020.

Cambridge Core

Cambridge University Press also makes their higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online in order to support the global community of teachers, researchers and learners during the coronavirus pandemic. Over 700 textbooks on Cambridge Core are now available regardless they were previously purchased by EdUHK Library. Free access is available until 31 May 2020. Click here to download the title list.

Cambridge Elements

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_camelements

Cambridge Elements are a new concept in academic publishing and scholarly communication, combining the best features of books and journals. They consist of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organised into focused series edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences.

Conceived from the start for a digital environment, and with the ability to be regularly updated, they provide a dynamic reference resource for graduate students, researchers, and practitioners. Free access is available until 31 May 2020.

Cambridge Histories

http://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_camhistories

Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Cambridge Histories offers a big picture perspective in each subject area, making them essential reading for anyone researching or studying a subject that has an historical element. Free access is available until 31 May 2020.

EBSCO eBooks

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/ebscohost?nlebk

EBSCO eBooks is partnering with publishers to waive simultaneous user limits wherever possible, ensuring unlimited access to e-books by upgrading EdUHK’s existing holdings to Unlimited-User Access until 30 June 2020 with a growing list of publishers.

EBSCO Harvard Business Review E-Book Collection

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_hbr

EBSCO Harvard Business Review E-Book Collection includes the complete catalogue of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. It offers access to more than 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works and 150+ article compilations with foundational articles included in the HBR Classics series.

Emerald Open Research

Emerald Open Research is an innovative open access research platform which supports rapid publication, an open data policy and open peer review process.  

Gale

Gale provides free access to interdisciplinary, curriculum-aligned resources to support online learning from pre-K through undergraduate.

  • Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children age three to six to key concepts in maths, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It’s as challenging as it is fun!
  • Kids InfoBits introduces elementary schoolers to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
  • Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference contents with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.
  • Gale In Context: High School supports student papers, projects, and presentations while empowering the development of critical thinking and problem-solving skills with contents aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
  • Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary contents that reinforce the development of various skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

IEEE

IEEE’s pre-university educational resources may be of assistance to families of students whose classroom activities have been disrupted.

JoVE

Free access to JoVE Science Education, a video library on teaching scientific fundamentals until 30 June 2020.

JoVE Core – a video textbook that isolates and visually presents core concepts in Biology and Social Psychology to improve learning comprehension.

JoVE Science Education – a collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations in eight STEM fields.

Lab Manual – comprehensive, curriculum focused videos for introductory biology lab courses.

JSTOR

JSTOR and our participating publishers have made 26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access until 30 June 2020. Topics addressed include Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_mwu

Merriam-Webster Unabridged is an American dictionary available online. It is built on the solid foundation of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged and is a good source of current information about the English language. Merriam-Webster Unabridged includes rich and clear definitions. Definitions have been enhanced with over 123,000 author quotations. Supplementary notes provide additional context, and usage paragraphs offer clear guidance and suggestions for words with confused or disputed usage. Dates of first known use are being added, and editorial style changes are being made throughout the dictionary to make entries more readable and easier to understand. Free access is available until 31 Jul 2020.

Ohio State University Press

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias - Education

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The Education module covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. The OREs draw on expert authors who are able to push beyond the basic facts to provide a researcher with a reliable understanding of an unfamiliar topic. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias combine the speed and flexibility of digital publishing with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. Multi-media features embedded in the articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content, will further expand the utility and scope of the research encyclopedia program.

*Only access to the Education module is available until 18 April 2020.

Project Muse

The following publishers have chosen to temporarily make their contents freely available on Project MUSE. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available on MUSE. 

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Press (all books, through 30 June 2020; all journals, through 30 June 2020)
Hong Kong University Press, HKU (all books, through 30 June 2020)
Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals, through 31 May 2020)
Ohio State University Press (all books and journals, through 30 June 2020)
University of Georgia Press (all books, through 30 June 2020)
University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals, through 31 May 2020)
University of North Carolina Press (all books, through 30 June 2020)
University Press of Colorado (all books, through 30 June 2020)
Temple University Press (all books, through 30 June 2020)
Utah State University Press (all books, through 30 June 2020)
Vanderbilt University Press (selected books, through 31 May 2020)

...and more

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings until 19 June 2020.

RedShelf Responds

Until 25 May 2020, RedShelf Responds will provide each registered user with up to 7 free ebooks from participating publishers. 

Royal Society of Chemistry

Teachers of chemistry can find free teaching resources, support and guidance on RSC’s education website. To help those who suddenly need to teach remotely, RSC is developing a series of resource packs and online Q&A sessions facilitated by their education coordinators. A great introduction is their article 10 ways to teach and learn while school’s closed. For more updates on how RSC can support your teaching, register for a free account.

Scholastic

Scholastic is offering free online courses through their “Learning from Home” free hub along with daily projects “to keep kids reading, thinking, and growing” for families, educators, and students.

Springer Nature

With the Coronavirus outbreak having an unprecedented impact on education, Springer Nature is launching a global program to support learning and teaching at higher education institutions worldwide. Remote access to educational resources has become essential. Springer Nature wants to support lecturers, teachers and students during this challenging period and hope that this initiative will go some way to help.

Institutions will be able to access more than 400 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free.  These books will be available via SpringerLink until 31 July 2020.

Click here to download the title list.

Tense Buster

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_tense

Tense Buster helps students tackle 33 key grammar areas, from articles at Elementary level through to phrasal verbs at Advanced. 

Users can simply select “Continue as a guest” without creating an account for free access until 30 June 2020.

University of California Press

In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of their online journals content free to all through 30 June 2020.

World Scientific

http://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_wsjournals

World Scientific upgrades EdUHK’s journal access to one that includes ALL World Scientific journal content published from 2001. Free access is available until 30 June 2020. Click here to download the title list.

上海圖書館報紙資源

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_cnbksy

包含的報紙有:

中文:《新聞報》《時報》《民國日報》《小報》(全4輯)《益世報》、《大公報》&《中央日報》

英文:《大美晚報》《上海晚郵》《上海差報》《中華快報》《大陸報》《上海泰晤士報》&《字林洋行中英文报纸数据库》

可免費取用至2020年6月22日。

台灣智慧新聞網 (中時副刊 & 中央日報)

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_tnsw

中時副刊(人間副刊)是當時台灣珍貴的記錄,尤其是記錄了當時台灣文學的發展,如一些知名作家皆有在上面投稿:夏志清、白先勇、劉紹銘、水晶等人…中時副刊是較為前衛的,敢在體制內觸動小禁忌。1986年在文訊雜誌的問卷調查中,榮獲「花樣最多的期刊」、「最關心我們社會現實的副刊」、「最具文化使命感的副刊」。

《中央日報》從1928年在上海創刊以來,是國民黨在大陸及台灣執政時期之代表性喉舌,記錄著中華民國的發展歷程。報禁解除前,《中央日報》在台灣是具官方色彩及權威性的媒體,晚期因社會結構的變遷《中央日報》失去經營優勢,於2006年5月31日發行最後一版,共發行28356號,長達79年,是當今全球中文報紙中歷史最悠久的中文報紙。

可免費取用至2020年6月30日。

申報電子版

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_shenbao

十九世紀鴉片戰爭後,是中國報業的發韌期,歐美報業隨之進入中國,起先是以外僑為對象發行的外文報紙,而後始有中文報刊的出現,但此時的中文報刊尚為由外文翻譯成中文的報紙;包括《中外新報》、《上海新報》、《華字日報》等等。由英籍茶商美查(Ernest Major)創辦,原全稱《申江新報》,後縮寫成《申報》。於1872年創刊至1949年停刊,前後歷時78年,共出版25600號。

資料庫共分為上集、中集、下集,收錄年代分別為:

• 上集:1872-1911年

• 中集:1912-1928年

• 下集:1929-1949年

可免費取用至2020年6月30日。

For Enquiries

Please contact Academic and Learning Support Section at 2948 6653 or email to libinfo@eduhk.hk.