Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free Online Resources Provided by Publishers during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Home

Free Online Resources Provided by Publishers during the COVID-19 Pandemic

As universities switch to online teaching modes, more and more publishers are responding to the COVID-19 pandemic and offer support to university libraries by opening up their e-resources during this difficult period.  This guide lists online resources made available by publishers and vendors at no cost to support faculty members and students for the remainder of the semester.

Academic Video Online

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_avon

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost.

Amazon Audible Stories

Amazon Audible Stories provides incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.
 

American Physical Society

Many physics instructors have suddenly found themselves in an unprecedented situation: their institutions are immediately transitioning to a completely online format. Find strategies and lists of resources to get started:

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has made their journals available to all (without access control) through 15 June 2020. On that date, the publisher will assess the need to extend this policy.

Bloomsbury Collections

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_bloomsbury

Delivers online access to scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s award-winning Academic division. Spanning the humanities and social sciences, the site features the latest research publications from Bloomsbury, T&T Clark and the Arden Shakespeare, alongside scholarship from historic imprints Continuum, Berg and Bristol Classical Press. Free access is available until 30 June 2020.

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_becs

A new digital platform offering systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world. Free access is available until 30 June 2020.

EBSCO eBooks

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/ebscohost?nlebk

EBSCO eBooks is partnering with publishers to waive simultaneous user limits wherever possible, ensuring unlimited access to e-books by upgrading EdUHK’s existing holdings to Unlimited-User Access until 30 June 2020 with a growing list of publishers.

EBSCO Harvard Business Review E-Book Collection

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_hbr

EBSCO Harvard Business Review E-Book Collection includes the complete catalogue of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. It offers access to more than 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works and 150+ article compilations with foundational articles included in the HBR Classics series.

Emerald Open Research

Emerald Open Research is an innovative open access research platform which supports rapid publication, an open data policy and open peer review process.  

IEEE

IEEE’s pre-university educational resources may be of assistance to families of students whose classroom activities have been disrupted.

Gale

Gale provides free access to interdisciplinary, curriculum-aligned resources to support online learning from pre-K through undergraduate.

  • Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children age three to six to key concepts in maths, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It’s as challenging as it is fun!
  • Kids InfoBits introduces elementary schoolers to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
  • Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference contents with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.
  • Gale In Context: High School supports student papers, projects, and presentations while empowering the development of critical thinking and problem-solving skills with contents aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
  • Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary contents that reinforce the development of various skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

LearnTech Library

Teaching, Technology, and Teacher Education during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Stories from the Field
This open access, 854-page eBook is published by AACE and SITE to support teachers and teacher educators around the world who are working through the COVID-19 crisis. Collected in one volume are 133 papers documenting and highlighting the best practices, strategies, and efforts by teacher educators, researchers and practitioners across the globe as they respond rapidly to offer remote learning and teaching.

Ohio State University Press

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.

RedShelf Responds

Until 25 May 2020, RedShelf Responds will provide each registered user with up to 7 free ebooks from participating publishers. 

Royal Society of Chemistry

Teachers of chemistry can find free teaching resources, support and guidance on RSC’s education website. To help those who suddenly need to teach remotely, RSC is developing a series of resource packs and online Q&A sessions facilitated by their education coordinators. A great introduction is their article 10 ways to teach and learn while school’s closed. For more updates on how RSC can support your teaching, register for a free account.

Scholastic

Scholastic is offering free online courses through their “Learning from Home” free hub along with daily projects “to keep kids reading, thinking, and growing” for families, educators, and students.

Springer Nature

With the Coronavirus outbreak having an unprecedented impact on education, Springer Nature is launching a global program to support learning and teaching at higher education institutions worldwide. Remote access to educational resources has become essential. Springer Nature wants to support lecturers, teachers and students during this challenging period and hope that this initiative will go some way to help.

Institutions will be able to access more than 400 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free.  These books will be available via SpringerLink until 31 July 2020.

Click here to download the title list.

University of California Press

In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of their online journals content free to all through 30 June 2020.

World Scientific

http://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_wsjournals

World Scientific upgrades EdUHK’s journal access to one that includes ALL World Scientific journal content published from 2001. Free access is available until 31 July 2020. Click here to download the title list.

上海圖書館報紙資源

https://www.lib.eduhk.hk/cgi-bin/WAMConnMgr?sid=trial_cnbksy

包含的報紙有:

中文:《新聞報》《時報》《民國日報》《小報》(全4輯)《益世報》、《大公報》&《中央日報》

英文:《大美晚報》《上海晚郵》《上海差報》《中華快報》《大陸報》《上海泰晤士報》&《字林洋行中英文报纸数据库》

可免費取用至2020年6月22日。

JSTOR

JSTOR and our participating publishers have made 26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access until 31 August 2020. Topics addressed include Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion.

For Enquiries

Please contact Academic and Learning Support Section at 2948 6653 or email to libinfo@eduhk.hk.