Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips: Reference works......
Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Selected Reference Works
Education indicators for the Hong Kong school education system. by
Vols. for 1997- called 1997 report-
Vols. for 1997- accompanied by: Abridged report.
Vols. for 1997- issued by: Education Dept., Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.
Vols. for 1999- issued by: Educational Research Section, Education Dept., Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.
Publication Date: Aug. 1995-
Global Perspectives on Educational Testing by
This book provides a refined definition of standardized educational test fairness that can be utilized in multiple contexts to better understand the experiences and perspectives of diverse groups of test takers. Globally, there has been a significant influx in the use of and dependence on standardized tests to foster educational improvements. Standardized testing programs such as TIMSS (Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study), are designed to provide information about a country's global standing in multiple academic areas, ranking individuals and/or groups relative to the performance of others. The high-stakes nature of standardized tests has increased public concern and interest in issues related to test fairness. Since standardized test performance has a profound influence on multiple aspects of educational systems, it is imperative to better understand and examine issues of fairness.
Publication Date: 2017
Grading for Impact by
As grading, assessment, and reporting continue to be a relevant topic of discussion, this book creates a functional plan to move standards-based grading practices forward in schools. Teachers and teacher leaders will learn how to assess, grade, and report against specific learning targets rather than standards as a whole.
Publication Date: 2018
How to Use Grading to Improve Learning by
Grades are imperfect, shorthand answers to "What did students learn, and how well?" In How to Use Grading to Improve Learning, best-selling author Susan M. Brookhart guides educators at all levels in figuring out how to produce grades--for single assignments and report cards--that accurately communicate students' achievement of learning goals.Brookhart explores topics that are fundamental to effective grading and learning practices:Acknowledging that all students can learnSupporting and motivating student effort and learningDesigning and grading appropriate assessmentsCreating policies for report card gradingImplementing learning-focused grading policiesCommunicating with students and parentsAssessing school or district readiness for grading reformThe book is grounded in research and resonates with the real lessons learned in the classroom. Although grading is a necessary part of schooling, Brookhart reminds us that children are sent to school to learn, not to get grades. This highly practical book will help you put grading and learning into proper perspective, offering strategies you can use right away to ensure that your grading practices actually support student learning.
Publication Date: 2017
The Sage Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment by
The research and debates surrounding curriculum, pedagogy and assessment are ever-growing and are of constant importance around the globe. With two volumes - containing chapters from highly respected researchers, whose work has been critical to understanding and building expertise in the field - The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment focuses on examining how curriculum is treated and developed, and its impact on pedagogy and assessment worldwide. The Handbook is organised into five thematic sections, considering: · The epistemology and methodology of curriculum · Curriculum and pedagogy · Curriculum subjects · Areas of the curriculum · Assessment and the curriculum · The curriculum and educational policy The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment's breadth and rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students around the world.
Publication Date: 2016
Testing and Inclusive Schooling by
Testing and Inclusive Schooling provides a comparative perspective on seemingly incompatible global agendas and efforts to include all children in the general school system, thus reducing exclusion. With an examination of the international testing culture and the politics of inclusion currently permeating national school reforms, this book raises a critical and constructive discussion of these movements, which appear to support one another, yet simultaneously offer profound contradictions. With contributions from around the world, the book analyses the dilemma arising between reforms that urge schools to move towards a constantly higher academic level, and those who practice a politics of inclusion leading to a greater degree of student diversity. The book considers the types of problems that arise when reforms implemented at the international level are transformed into policies and practices, firmly placing global educational efforts into perspective by highlighting a range of different cases at both national and local levels. Testing and Inclusive Schooling sheds light on new possibilities for educational improvements in global and local contexts and is essential reading for academics, researchers and postgraduate students interested in international and comparative education, assessment technologies and practices, inclusion, educational psychology and educational policy.
Publication Date: 2018