Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips: Reference works......
Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Selected Reference Works
APA Handbook of Interpersonal Communication by
When we use language to interact with one another, we become involved in a continuous and dynamic process of exchange. This makes it a fascinating area for behavioral research. During the give-and-take of discourse, the communicators exchange facts, ideas, views, opinions, emotions, and intentions in such a way as to enhance or impede social relationships; create, maintain, and adapt identities; and create or resolve conflicts. In this handbook, distinguished contributors apply the problem-solving perspectives of applied linguistics to answer some fundamental questions: How do our interpersonal relations manifest themselves in language? What is the role of language in developing and maintaining relationships through interpersonal communication? What types of problems occur in interpersonal communication and what kinds of strategies do we use to solve them? How does interpersonal linguistic communication interact with other semiotic modes? The volume is divided into two parts that examine both theoretical and applied topics. Thus, the contributors critically appraise the relevance of applied linguistics to not only understanding but also solving everyday language-related problems.
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Publication Date: 2015-10-22
Dictionary of Quotations in Communications by
This work is a compilation of more than 3000 quotations on reading, writing, speaking, listening, and many other communications-related topics such as advertising, business, computers, education, film, journalism, language, photography, public relations, rhetoric, television, and world communications. The dictionary contains quotations from the classic to the contemporary, and all are arranged alphabetically, both by and within topics, by the author's last name.
Publication Date: 1997-11-20
Effective Personal Communication Skills for Public Relations by
To be a successful public relations practitioner one has to be a great communicator at all levels. This stimulating and original book shows PR people how to harness their personal powers of communication to enhance their personal brand and ensure that they get their message across. Andy Green takes an essentially creative and modern approach drawing on the very latest research and thinking into the how the mind works and how ideas are communicated. In particular, he introduces the reader to the theory of memes. A term coined by Richard Dawkins, memes are contagious ideas that once communicated spread like a virus. Green shows how to achieve this in the context of PR communications.
Publication Date: 2010-01-10
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information by
Designed for the non-specialist, this is a complete reference covering finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management and information systems. Drawing on practical expertise and current scholarship, the contributors include executives, scholrs and government administrators.
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by
The most coherent treatment yet of these fields, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication promises to be the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
The Handbook of Communication Skills by
The Handbook of Communication Skills is recognised as one of the core texts in the field of communication. This thoroughly revised and updated third edition arrives at a time of considerable growing interest in this area, with recent research showing the importance of communication skills for success in many walks of life. The book's core principle, that interpersonal communication can be conceptualized as a form of skilled activity, is examined in detail and a comprehensive transactional model of skilled communication is presented, which takes into account current conceptual and research perspectives. This book provides a comprehensive analysis of research, theory and practice in the key skill areas of communication, such as non-verbal communication, persuasion, leadership, assertiveness, self-disclosure, listening and negotiation. Each chapter is written by a recognised authority in that particular specialism, among them world leaders in their particular fields. In thenbsp;ten years since the last edition, a large volume of research has been published and the text has been comprehensively updated by reviewing this wealth of data. In addition a new chapter on persuasion has been addednbsp;- one of the areas of most rapid growth in social psychology and communication. The Handbook of Communication Skills represents the most significant single contribution to the literature in this domain. It will be of continued interest to researchers and students in psychology and communication, as well as in a variety of other contexts, from vocational courses in health, business and education, to many others such as nursing and social work whose day-to-day work is dependent on effective interpersonal skills.
Publication Date: 2006-06-13
The Handbook of Comparative Communication Research by
The Handbook of Comparative Communication Research aims to provide a comprehensive understanding of comparative communication research. It fills an obvious gap in the literature and offers an extensive and interdisciplinary discussion of the general approach of comparative research, its prospect and problems as well as its applications in crucial sub-fields of communications. The first part of the volume charts the state of the art in the field; the second section introduces relevant areas of communication studies where the comparative approach has been successfully applied in recent years; the third part offers an analytical review of conceptual and methodological issues; and the last section proposes a roadmap for future research.
Publication Date: 2012-04-02
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication by
Interpersonal communication (IC) is a continuous game between the interacting interactants. It is a give and take - a continuous, dynamic flow that is linguistically realized as discourse as an on-going sequence of interactants' moves. Interpersonal communication is produced and interpreted by acting linguistically, and this makes it a fascinating research area. The handbook, Interpersonal Communication , examines how interactants manage to exchange facts, ideas, views, opinions, beliefs, emotion, etc. by using the linguistic systems and the resources they offer. In interpersonal communication, the fine-tuning of individuals' use of the linguistic resources is continuously probed. The language used in interpersonal communication enhances social relations between interactants and keeps the interaction on the normal track. When interaction gets off the track, linguistic miscommunication may also destroy social relationships. This volume is essentially concerned with this fine-tuning in discourse, and how it is achieved among various interactant groups. The volume departs from the following fundamental questions: How do interpersonal relations manifest themselves in language? What is the role of language in developing and maintaining relationships in interpersonal communication? What types of problems occur in interpersonal communication and what kind of strategies and means are used to solve them? How does linguistically realized interpersonal communication interact with other semiotic modes? Interpersonal communication is seen and researched from the perspective of what is being said or written, and how it is realized in various generic forms. The current research also gives attention to other semiotic modes which interact with the linguistic modes. It is not just the social roles of interactants in groups, the possible media available, the non-verbal behaviors, the varying contextual frames for communication, but primarily the actual linguistic manifestations that we need to focus upon when we want to have a full picture of what is going on in human interpersonal communication. It is this linguistic perspective that the volume aims to present to all researchers interested in IC. The volume offers an overview of the theories, methods, tools, and resources of linguistically-oriented approaches, e.g. from the fields of linguistics, social psychology, sociology, and semiotics, for the purpose of integration and further development of the interests in IC., Topics e.g.: Orientation to interaction as primarily linguistically realized processes Expertise on theorizing and analyzing cultural and situational contexts where linguistic processes are realized Expertise on handling language corpora Expertise on theorizing and analyzing interaction types as genres Orientation to an integrated view of linguistic and non-linguistic participant activities and of how interactants generate meanings and interact with space Expertise on researching the management of the linguistic flow in interaction and its successfulness.
Publication Date: 2008-12-10
Handbook of Research on Writing by
The Handbook of Research on Writing ventures to sum up inquiry over the last few decades on what we know about writing and the many ways we know it: How do people write? How do they learn to write and develop as writers? Under what conditions and for what purposes do people write? What resources and technologies do we use to write? How did our current forms and practices of writing emerge within social history? What impacts has writing had on society and the individual? What does it mean to be and to learn to be an active participant in contemporary systems of meaning? This cornerstone volume advances the field by aggregating the broad-ranging, interdisciplinary, multidimensional strands of writing research and bringing them together into a common intellectual space. Endeavoring to synthesize what has been learned about writing in all nations in recent decades, it reflects a wide scope of international research activity, with attention to writing at all levels of schooling and in all life situations. Chapter authors, all eminent researchers, come from disciplines as diverse as anthropology, archeology, typography, communication studies, linguistics, journalism, sociology, rhetoric, composition, law, medicine, education, history, and literacy studies. The Handbook's 37 chapters are organized in five sections: *The History of Writing; *Writing in Society; *Writing in Schooling; *Writing and the Individual; *Writing as Text This volume, in summing up what is known about writing, deepens our experience and appreciation of writing--in ways that will make teachers better at teaching writing and all of its readers better as individual writers. It will be interesting and useful to scholars and researchers of writing, to anyone who teaches writing in any context at any level, and to all those who are just curious about writing.
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods covers all communication research methods, from data collection to data analysis, from qualitative to quantitative, and from classical to modern approaches (such as psychophysiological measures, implicit association tests, and the analysis of big data). It introduces new and advanced methods and measurement tools that have been developed in other fields but which may be useful to communication scholars. This work features content from authors all over the world. Although there is some overlap to methods used in other social sciences (i.e., sociology, anthropology, linguistics, business, and philosophy), there are specific research settings and challenges that communication scholars have to deal with in their day-to-day work. To reflect this, the encyclopedia deals specifically with methods of communication research. It presents all of its information in three comprehensive parts: Foundations of Empirical Research, Methods of Data Collection, and Methods of Data Analysis. The first of its kind in ambition and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods offers: Key research topics in the field from a strong global editorial team Multi-disciplinary crossover to other social sciences Both qualitative and quantitative methods--and classical as well as modern approaches Basic, fundamental, and advanced methods used at the forefront of cutting-edge research Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library. Students and scholars need sound and comprehensive resources that map the field, explain key terms, and point to current debates and challenges. This encyclopedia meets those needs, and will serve as an important text for communication students as well as scholars independent of their topical focus and methodological expertise.
Publication Date: 2017-11-10
International Encyclopedia of Communications by
The Internationa Encyclopedia of Communications, published jointly with the Annenberg School of Communications at the University of Pennsylvania, represents the first attempt to survey--and, in many respects, to define--the communications field. In a clear, comprehensive, and authoritative way, the IEC covers all aspects of communication--individual and institutional, cultural and technological, practical and theoretical--in every part of the world. Broad in scope and interdisciplinary in coverage, the IEC contains more than 550 original articles written by a distinguished international group of contributors. Within the various entries, thousands of subjects are discussed: from simple physical gesture to speech, language, and alphabet; from fire signal to space satellite; from clay tablet to microchip. And, unlike other encyclopedias, the IEC approaches each topic from the unique perspective of the communications field, discussing communications research and scholarship as well as the links between communications and host of other disciplines--including anthropology, art, education, history, journalism, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science and technology, and sociology. A singular source of information encompassing a broad range of disciplines, the IEC is destined to become an indispensable reference for students, scholars, educators, professionals, and general readers, and an essentail resource for every library.
Publication Date: 1989-04-06
The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication, 3 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication presents a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts and processes that interpersonal communication researchers use to explain a wide variety of social interaction phenomena. Over 270 entries explore: interpersonal conflict, negotiation, relationship development, interactional adaptation, social influence, and, communication in the workplace, at school and within family life Encompasses both theory and practice, bringing together the fascinating and groundbreaking research from the field, from the first generation of interpersonal communication scholars to the very latest developments Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
The International Encyclopedia of Strategic Communication by
The definitive international reference on strategic communication The term "strategic communication" traditionally has been understood as referring to external corporate communication, such as public relations, marketing communication, and advertising, with insufficient consideration beyond its role as a tool of persuasive influence. In recent years, however, the field of strategic communication has evolved to be more holistic in its approach and its role within sociocultural contexts. Articles, textbooks, and handbooks have attempted to define the scope, purpose, and nature of the concept, but as the first major comprehensive work of its kind, The International Encyclopedia of Strategic Communication captures the full scope of contemporary theory and practice in strategic communication. Reflecting the current international trend within communication studies generally, this timely reference explores current efforts on the part of thought leaders and practitioners worldwide to critique, integrate, and reengineer forms, structures, functions of, and purposes for external and internal communication of organizations. To that end, the editors have enlisted a multidisciplinary team of authors, including scholars and industry professionals from around the globe who share their insights and expertise within the four major areas of strategy, organization, management, and sociocultural impact. Defines state-of-the-art concepts, models, theories, contexts, and professional practices at the heart of 21st century strategic communication Addresses all contexts within which strategic influence is required to achieve outcomes that serve the interests of organizations' and those whom they seek to influence Goes beyond traditional, US-dominated perspectives to provide an international approach Explores strategic communication from a much-needed sociocultural perspective Examines strategic communication's role beyond corporate persuasion and offers a broader view of its functions for organizations of all kinds Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library. Written with the support and assistance of the International Communication Association, the world's leading association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human, organizational and mediated communication, The International Encyclopedia of Strategic Communication is an indispensable resource for students, teachers, and researchers in the burgeoning field of communication, as well as public relations, corporate communication, and marketing professionals working in organizations worldwide.
Publication Date: 2018-09-07
Language and Communication by
People have been concerned with fundamental questions about language and communication for thousands of years. How did human language originate? Why are there so many different languages? Are features of language and communication arbitrary or do universal patterns prevail? By introducing readers to these kinds of questions, this alphabetically arranged volume presents a complete and detailed picture of how Western and non-Western traditions influence one another.
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Public Speaking Handbook by
Adapted from the authors' top-selling public speaking book,Public Speaking Handbookprovides a unique, audience-centered approach in a reader-friendly reference format, allowing quick and easy access to key information. Public Speaking Handbookbrings theory and practice together in an understandable and applicable manner. Its distinctive and popular audience-centered approach emphasizes the importance of analyzing and considering the audience at every point in preparing and delivering a speech. This public speaking model serves as a foundation as the book guides readers through the step-by-step process of public speaking, focusing their attention on the importance and dynamics of diverse audiences.
Publication Date: 2008-12-28