Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development
by
This Handbook provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of research and theory about social development in children from pre-school age to the onset of adolescence. Forms part of a series of four Blackwell Handbooks in Developmental Psychology spanning infancy to adolescence. Contributors come from Australia, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, the UK and the US. Covers all the major topics in research and theory about childhood social development. Synthesises the latest research findings in an accessible manner. Now available in full text online via xreferplus, the award-winning reference library on the web from xrefer. For more information, visit www.xreferplus.com
Encyclopedia of Relationships Across the Lifespan
by
This comprehensive, cross-disciplinary encyclopedia explores the developmental nature of social interactions and is designed for a broad range of readers in college, institutional, and public library settings. The lifespan perspective illuminates how relationships change throughout the course of human development from family interactions and friendships to dating and work relationships. In the process a diversity of topics are explored, such as aging experiences, divorce, family violence, gender roles, grandparenthood, HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, marriage and alternative lifestyles, parenthood, and sibling relations. A variety of perspectives are provided, including psychological, sociological, family studies, historical, anthropological, and religious views. The reader is also exposed to how lifespan relationships are shaped by international, racial, ethnic, and class differences. Over 500 easy-to-read entries analyze terms, concepts, themes, theories, and policies, as well as current, historical, and multicultural perspectives, and provide over 1,500 sources for further study. An appendix listing over 100 professional journals of note and a selected bibliography of the latest publications of importance to the topic overall further enrich this volume designed for students, teachers, practitioners, and general readers in all the social sciences.
Face to Face Skills
by
Effective people skills are an important aspect of management style. Most managers spend a large part of their time in face-to-face encounters of one kind or another. This includes formal occasions such as meetings and presentations, and less formal interactions involving two people or more. The author's research suggests that many people repeat favourite behaviour patterns simply because they come naturally rather than because they are appropriate or effective. This book offers a way of identifying and classifying particular behaviours. What we do and say affects other people - or, as Dr.Honey puts it, behaviour breeds behaviour. With examples and case studies based on familiar business situations, he shows how to make behaviour - both spoken and non-verbal - a conscious process that can be harnessed and used to help ourselves and the people with whom we work.
Guiding Children's Social Development
by
Unmatched by other books on the market, the 5th edition of Guiding Children's Social Development, provides a solid foundation of up-to-date theory and research that will strengthen the reader's understanding of how children develop and learn within the social domain. It focuses on ways to help children from all backgrounds and circumstances develop positive self-esteem and social competence by offering a framework for sound principles of child development, relationship enhancement, and behavior management. It describes successful ways to translate information in practical settings within the classroom or other learning environments, and procedures to increase practitioner effectiveness. With sound principles of theory and practice, the book creates a framework for interpreting children's behavior and for implementing appropriate strategies to enhance children's social competence.
Guiding Children's Social Development and Learning : Theory and Skills
by
Updated throughout and featuring an emphasis on NAEYC and other standards, GUIDING CHILDREN'S SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT AND LEARNING: THEORY AND SKILLS, Ninth Edition, focuses on ways professionals can help children develop both positive feelings about themselves and social competence. You'll find practical, developmentally appropriate strategies for how to work with children and families from many different backgrounds and circumstances, and in a variety of group settings. With the help of this text, you'll avoid much of the guesswork and frustration that can hinder practitioners' efforts to influence children's social development and behavior. And, you'll obtain a unified framework for decision-making and professional practice that incorporates sound principles of children's development, relationship enhancement, and behavior management. This is a book you'll want to keep and refer to long after you leave the course.
Handbook of Language and Social Interaction
by
This Handbooknbsp;stands as the premier scholarly resource for Language and Social Interaction (LSI)nbsp;subject matter and research, giving visibility and definition to this area of study and establishing a benchmark for the current state of scholarship. The Handbook identifies the five main subdisciplinary areas that make up LSI--language pragmatics, conversation analysis, language and social psychology, discourse analysis, and the ethnography of communication. One section of the volume is devoted to each area, providing a forum for a variety of authoritative voices to provide their respective views on the central concerns, research programs, and main findings of each area, and to articulate the present or emergent issues and directions. A sixth section addresses LSI in the context of broadcast media and the Internet. nbsp;This volume's distinguished authors and original content contribute significantly to the advancement of LSI scholarship, circumscribing and clarifying the interrelationships among the questions, findings, and methods across LSI's subdisciplinary areas. Readers will come away richer in their understanding of the variety and depth of ways the intricacies of language and social interaction are revealed. nbsp;As an essential scholarly resource, this Handbook is required reading for scholars, researchers, and graduate students in language and social interaction, and it is destined to have a broad influence on future LSI study and research.
Handbook of Peer Interactions, Relationships, and Groups, Second Edition
by
The definitive handbook on peer relations has now been significantly revised with 55% new material. Bringing together leading authorities, this volume presents cutting-edge research on the dynamics of peer interactions, their impact on multiple aspects of social development, and the causes and consequences of peer difficulties. From friendships and romance to social withdrawal, aggression, and victimization, all aspects of children's and adolescents' relationships are explored. The book examines how individual characteristics interact with family, group, and contextual factors across development to shape social behavior. The importance of peer relationships to emotional competence, psychological well-being, and achievement is analyzed, and peer-based interventions for those who are struggling are reviewed. Each chapter includes an introductory overview and addresses theoretical considerations, measures and methods, research findings and their implications, and future directions. New to This Edition *Chapters on neuroscience, social media, social inequality, prosocial behavior with peers, and sociological approaches. *Expanded coverage of applied issues: chapters on interventions for socially withdrawn children, activity programs that promote positive youth development, and policy initiatives. *Chapters on same- and other-sex peer relationships, peer influence, educational environments, evolutionary models, the self-concept, personality, and animal studies. *Increased attention to variations in peer relations due to culture, gender, and race. *Many new authors and topics reflect a decade's worth of theoretical and methodological advances, including the growing use of complex longitudinal methods.
Handbook of Research on Agent-Based Societies
by
In a given environment, agents interact with each other, imitating, communicating, exchanging, and competing. Based on these heterogeneous modalities of interaction, a variety of socialities may emerge including language and communication, identities, economies, and cultures. ""The Handbook of Research on Agent-Based Societies: Social and Cultural Interactions"" addresses the emergence of societal phenomena in the interactions of systems of agents. Comprising authoritative chapters by numerous international authors, this reference book goes well beyond describing the next generation of multi-agent systems in simulations and system engineering and analyzes existing systems to stimulate the development of new ones. It features: 23 authoritative contributions by over 40 of the world's leading experts on agent-based societies from 7 countries; comprehensive coverage of each specific topic, highlighting recent trends and describing the latest advances in the field; more than 830 references to existing literature and research on agent-based societies; and a compendium of over 260 key terms with detailed definitions. It is organized by topic and indexed, making it a convenient method of reference for all IT/IS scholars and professionals. It includes cross-referencing of key terms, figures, and information pertinent to agent-based societies.
Handbook of Research on Discourse Behavior and Digital Communication
by
With the growth and advancement of digital communication technology over the past decade and the advent of modern telecommunications and the Internet, the structure of human behavior and social interaction has been redesigned.The Handbook of Research on Discourse Behavior and Digital Communication: Language Structures and Social Interaction is a compendium of over 50 scholarly works on discourse behavior in digital communication. The diverse, but related disciplinary perspectives presented in this handbook further establishes how modern communication technologies are shaping discourse and social interaction all over the world; providing a comprehensive overview of empirical, as well as theoretical issues on digital communication from various regions of the world.
Handbook of Research on Human Social Interaction in the Age of Mobile Devices
by
Digital innovations, such as mobile technologies, have had a significant impact on the way people relate to one another, as well as the way they obtain and distribute information. As mobile devices continue to evolve, it has become easier to socialize; however, these mobile advancements have also made certain aspects of interaction more complex. The Handbook of Research on Human Social Interaction in the Age of Mobile Devices features an interdisciplinary perspective on mobile innovations and the use of this technology in daily life. Investigating the successes, issues, and challenges of the utilization of mobile technology, this handbook of research is a comprehensive reference source for professionals, educators, policymakers, and students interested in the impact these devices have on digital interaction, media, and communication.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
by
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This outstanding resource provides a comprehensive research overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make knowledgeable judgments about these issues. Now in its fourth edition, this handbook features all new sections on social emotional learning, non-cognitive assessment, child development, early childhood education, content areas, teacher preparation, technology, multimedia, and English language learners. With thorough updates to chapters and references, this new edition remains the cutting-edge resource for making the field's extensive knowledge base readily available and accessible to researchers and educators. It is a valuable resource for all of those who work and study in the field of early childhood education including researchers, educators, policy makers, librarians, and school administrators. This volume addresses critical, up-to-date research on several disciplines such as child development, early childhood education, psychology, curriculum, teacher preparation, policy, evaluation strategies, technology, and multimedia exposure.
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction
by
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction is an invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholars, available both online and as a three-volume print set. The definitive international reference work on a topic of major and increasing importance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Provides state-of-the-art research for scholars in a highly interactive and accessible format, available both online and as a three-volume print set Covers key research topics in the field with contributions from a team of experienced, global editors Successfully brings into a single source, explication of all of the fascinating and ground-breaking Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library
Manual for Social Skills Training in Young People with Parent and Teacher Programmes
by
Guide for therapists and teachers engaged in training children and adolescents in social skills. Takes into account home and school environments, and includes an evaluation guide, bibliography and list of resources. A set of posters accompanies the text.
Promoting Emotional and Social Development in Schools
by
The social and emotional needs of children have become increasingly important to educators in recent years, as the impact they have on improving behaviour and promoting inclusion has become evident. Written in an accessible style for busy practitioners, this book gives advice on creating an emotionally and socially ′healthy′ school. The book: - shows why schools should promote emotional and social development - includes practical ideas & activities for those working in primary & secondary schools - uses a range of case studies to illustrate the impact of good practice - includes INSET / personal review materials, and audit tools
Social Skills Assessment and Training with Children
by
The purpose of this book is to provide readers with sufficient knowledge regard ing social skills assessment and training with children so that they can imple ment and evaluate social skills programs on their own. Increased interest in promoting children's social skills has stemmed in part from advances in research that have shown the importance of childhood social competency for adjustment in both childhood and adulthood. There is a growing need for assessment and training methods that can be utilized by diverse groups of professionals and paraprofessionals. This book is intended for mental health workers, teachers, educators, clinicians, and child-care personnel. The book thoroughly reviews the literature to acquaint readers with relevant findings on social skills and to pro vide discussion regarding contemporary issues and assessment techniques. Sub sequently, comprehensive procedures in the training of children's social skills are presented. Readers are also provided with 16 detailed training modules, each of which comprises a rationale, instructions, Scripts, and homework assign ments. These modules are designed to permit effective implementation of social skills training programs. Moreover, they provide a structured and program matically designed format that builds in clinical flexibility for their use with individual children or groups of children. These modules are followed by a clinical-issues section designed to address potential obstacles to effective training. Following these major sections, two appendixes have been included in the book. The first appendix is a step-by-step description of how to conduct an assessment.
The Social Skills Handbook
by
Now in a revised second edition, this book offers practical guidance for setting up and running social skills sessions. Based on well-established therapeutic principles, this is a flexible, easy-to-use resource suitable for practitioners and professionals working in a range of settings. An overview of social communication theory and the principles of groupwork forms a solid foundation for the session and activity guidance, structured so that the sessions progress from basic skills such as 'Eye Contact' and 'Empathy' to more complex skills such as 'Problem Solving' and 'Making Friends'. Features of the book include: * Practical and theoretical information for session facilitators * Over 70 versatile, easy-to-follow activity suggestions designed to suit all ages and levels of social ability * An attractive visual layout that includes colour coded sections, tables and illustrations * Brand new activities focused on 'Dealing with Conflict' and social communication 'In the Workplace'. With ever increasing numbers of people being diagnosed with some form of social difficulty, this book will be an essential resource for anybody working within health and social care, education and the community looking to teach and develop social confidence and communication skills.
Social Skills Training Manual
by
Social Skill and Social Skills Training. Social Behavior. Assessment for Social Skills Training. Basic Training Methods. Designing Social Skills Training Programs. Preparation for and Management of Social Skills Training. Social Skills Training Programmes. References.
Teachers' Manual for Training Social Skills While Managing Student Behavior
by
Intensive program for teachers designed for classroom use with students who have social or peer-group difficulties. Takes a preventative approach to discipline and social adjustment, and includes an evaluation guide, a bibliography and list of resources. A set of posters accompanies the text.