AI Discovery Zone @ EdUHK Library's Research Support - Guides at The Education University of Hong Kong

What is Qwen3-Max?

Qwen3-Max-Instruct, the flagship model, ranks third globally on the LMArena leaderboard, surpassing many leading AI models. It excels in:
Coding: With a score of 69.6 on Verified SWE-Bench, it's an excellent tool for computer science students that are solving programming problems.
Agent Capabilities: With a 74.8 score on Tau2-Bench, it can facilitate operations like automation and integration of tools, better suited for project development.
Reasoning: The new-generation Qwen3-Max-Thinking model has achieved top 100% on challenging math benchmarks like AIME 25 and HMMT, promising to be a helpful tool for mathematics-heavy disciplines.

Why It Matters for You

Qwen3-Max can help your studies in a host of ways, from code completion to explaining obtuse concepts and creating research or project ideas. From debugging code, solving equations, to researching new material, this AI model is the solid support you need to do it correctly.

A Peek Behind the Tech

Qwen3-Max has a Mixture of Experts (MoE) architecture and ChunkFlow, enabling it to process vast amounts of information like contexts of 1 million tokens efficiently. It is ideal for processing long texts or data sets, the best buddy of a research-intensive project.

How to Discover Qwen3-Max

Try Qwen Chat: Use Qwen3-Max-Instruct directly in Qwen Chat to ask a question or ask for your task.
Use the API: Available via Alibaba Cloud Model Studio, the API allows you to integrate Qwen3-Max into your applications. Sign up for an Alibaba Cloud account and begin building.
Stay Tuned: Qwen3-Max-Thinking, committed to high-level thinking, is in development but will soon be available for public use.

Recent Posts

Discover Qwen3-Max – A Powerful AI Resource for College Students

We’re excited to share news about Qwen3-Max, the latest AI model from the Qwen3 series, designed to support your academic and creative endeavors. With over 1 trillion parameters and training on 36 trillion tokens, Qwen3-Max is a remarkable tool for tackling coursework, coding projects, and complex problem-solving.What is Qwen3-Max?Qwen3-Max-Instruct, the flagship model, ranks third globally on the LMArena leaderboard, surpassing many leading AI models. It excels in:Coding: With a score of 69.6 on Verified SWE-Bench, it's an excellent tool for computer science students that are solving programming problems.Agent Capabilities: With a 74.8 score on Tau2-Bench, it can facilitate operations like automation and integration of tools, better suited for project development.Reasoning: The new-generation Qwen3-Max-Thinking model has achieved top 100% on challenging math benchmarks like AIME 25 and HMMT, promising to be a helpful tool for mathematics-heavy disciplines.Why It Matters for YouQwen3-Max can help your studies in a host of ways, from code completion to explaining obtuse concepts and creating research or project ideas. From debugging code, solving equations, to researching new material, this AI model is the solid support you need to do it correctly.A Peek Behind the TechQwen3-Max has a Mixture of Experts (MoE) architecture and ChunkFlow, enabling it to process vast amounts of information like contexts of 1 million tokens efficiently. It is ideal for processing long texts or data sets, the best buddy of a research-intensive project.How to Discover Qwen3-MaxTry Qwen Chat: Use Qwen3-Max-Instruct directly in Qwen Chat to ask a question or ask for your task.Use the API: Available via Alibaba Cloud Model Studio, the API allows you to integrate Qwen3-Max into your applications. Sign up for an Alibaba Cloud account and begin building.Stay Tuned: Qwen3-Max-Thinking, committed to high-level thinking, is in development but will soon be available for public use....

Which AI Model Wins? Exploring the LMArena Leaderboard

The LMArena Leaderboard is a cutting-edge benchmarking platform for evaluating large language models (LLMs), designed to provide rigorous, data-driven rankings based on model performance in diverse text-based tasks. It is particularly valuable for university students and academic researchers seeking empirical foundations for selecting AI models in research and educational settings. LMArena originated as an academic project at the University of California, Berkeley, developed to systematically measure the capabilities of AI models using reproducible, user-driven evaluation workflows. Utilizing human preference judgments and controlled evaluation methodologies—including the pioneering “Style Control” protocol, which disentangles superficial presentation features from substantive reasoning—the leaderboard sustains high methodological standards and is increasingly cited in scholarly literature. The platform hosts side-by-side comparisons of hundreds of text models, leveraging millions of user votes to compute statistical scores associated with confidence intervals. These measures provide transparency and enable robust model selection for academic inquiry, ranging from computational linguistics and digital humanities to applied AI research. ...

ResearchRabbit: Free Literature Search for Academics and Students

Academic research often begins with a daunting question: “Where do I start?” For both university staff and students, navigating the vast landscape of academic papers can feel overwhelming—especially when working on literature reviews, essays, dissertations, or exploring new topics. Enter ResearchRabbit: a modern, AI-powered literature mapping tool designed to make academic discovery faster, smarter, and more insightful.What is ResearchRabbit?ResearchRabbit is a free online platform that helps users visualize, discover, and curate research publications through an innovative, citation-based mapping interface. Rather than scrolling through endless database results, you can now start with just one or two seed papers and let ResearchRabbit uncover connected articles, authors, and trends in your chosen fieldKey Features for Academic Staff and Students Accessible & FreeResearchRabbit runs entirely in your browser—no software installation required—and is free for researchers, students, and academics alike.Dynamic Literature MapsResearchRabbit creates stunning, interactive visual maps that show relationships between papers, authors, and citations. This bird’s-eye view helps users see the “big picture” of a research area, identify influential work, and spot potential gaps in the literature.Citation Trails and Author NetworksExplore citation relationships—see what papers influenced your seed articles (backward citations), follow who cited them (forward citations), or find similar works. You can also map out author collaborations, which is especially useful for understanding expert networks in a discipline.Curated CollectionsOrganize your discoveries into collections. These can be shared with colleagues or students, making collaboration and group projects a breeze.Personalized, Smart RecommendationsThe more papers you add to your collection, the better ResearchRabbit becomes at recommending other relevant work. It learns your interests and keeps you up-to-date by alerting you to new, related publications.How Can University Staff and Students Benefit?For Researchers & Academics:Quickly map the landscape of a new research topic, uncover influential publications, and organize reading lists for course or lab groups.For Students:Simplify the literature review process for essays, theses, or dissertations. No more fear of missing out on key papers—ResearchRabbit’s smart mapping and recommendations have you covered.jcu+1For Collaborative Projects:Share collections, annotate papers, and collaboratively build a group bibliography. Perfect for lab groups, courses, or supervision meetings.Getting StartedSign up at researchrabbit.ai (free account required).Create a collection and add one or more seed papers (by uploading a file, pasting in a DOI, or searching for a title).Explore the dynamic maps, expand your collection, and organize key findings.Share with peers, annotate, and keep building your personalized research landscape.Pro TipsUse ResearchRabbit alongside your university’s academic databases for the most robust literature mapping.Take advantage of visualizations to present literature overviews in classes, seminars, or project meetings.Encourage students to organize their thesis or dissertation sources with ResearchRabbit for better research management.Conclusion:ResearchRabbit is transforming how university academics and students discover and interact with the scholarly literature. Its unique, visual, and collaborative approach to literature mapping makes it an indispensable platform for anyone serious about research in the digital age.jcu+2...

Generative AI in Library Databases

Many library databases and subscription services now integrate AI-powered tools to improve user experience, content discovery, and accessibility. Below is a list of subscribed library resources that feature AI-driven research assistant capabilities: PlatformTool nameRemarksEBSCOhostAI InsightsIn betaFor some journal articles onlyMore information FactivaSmart SummaryMore informationJSTORAI Research ToolRequire to login to personal account when accessing via EZProxyCan be accessed when viewing both journal articles and book chaptersProQuestResearch AssistantNo need to login to personal accountCurrently available to content of the following ProQuest products:ProQuest One EducationProQuest Dissertations & ThesesProQuest Ebook Central (in beta) CNKI CNKI SmartOn trial until 31 October 2025iSearchPrimo Research AssistantRequire to login to MyLibrary accountLibguide...