Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips: Reference works......
Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Selected Reference Works
A Political and Economic Dictionary of East Asia by
This title provides concise, clear definitions of the terms, organizations and personalities making up the economic and political fabric of East Asia. Containing up-to-date, detailed information, this book will prove a key reference to anyone studying the region, an area which is coming to the forefront of international affairs. Short essays on recent history and the economy profile of each country in the region, while other entries detail eminent politicians or heads of state, important national and international organizations, political parties, religions, border disputes and geographical features.
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics by
This is a brand-new edition of the critically acclaimed Encyclopedia of Government and Politics which has been fully revised and updated to provide a systematic account of politics and political studies at the beginning of the new millennium. Providing a penetrating analysis of government and politics at a global, regional and nation-state level, the Encyclopediaassesses both traditional and contemporary approaches, and projects the paths of future research. The articles provide a degree of critical analysis far beyond a simple descriptive outline of the subject. Internationally respected contributors have been carefully selected to present contending approaches to related topics, both to clarify the political implications of the various methodologies and to enrich the portrayal of political life. With its expanded, revised and updated coverage, Encyclopedia of Government and Politics is more than ever an indispensable tool for students, teachers, professional analysts and policy-makers.
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Governance by
This two volume set on Governance provides a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of national governments in recent times and the ways in which their roles have been conceptualized in the areas of political science, public administration, political economy and sociology. Key features include: - an examination the changes in national governments associated with the transfer of powers, rights and functions to organizations within the private sector and with the rise of new types of regional and international linkages and problems therein; - an exploration of how national governments have become both increasingly dependent on organizations inthe private sector and increasingly constrained by international linkages. The Encyclopedia of Governance avoids the jargon that characterizes most of the writing in this field and translates the common language used into a more familiar and commonsense vocabulary, so as to make it intelligible to the broadest possible audience. This collection is an essential purchase for all reference libraries around the world.
Publication Date: 2006-12-13
The Oxford Companion to Australian Politics by
The Oxford Companion to Australian Politics is the first scholarly and comprehensive account of Australian Politics, covering all aspects of Australian political life and thought in over 400 specially commissioned entries. Individual entries vary in length, from longer interpretive essays acknowledged experts in particular fields to shorter, more factual entries; entry topics include biographies of key political figures; Central concepts, such as sovereignty, citizenship, and globalization; and the organization andinstitutions of public administration, law, and politics at all levels. The Companion includes a compendium of factual information on key topics of Australian politics (eg. chronologies of political history; lists of Australian Prime ministers, results of referendums). Coverage is wide-ranging, including national Australian politics as well as Australian politics in regional, international and global contexts. The work gives attention to all levels of government within the Australian federal political system as well as local government and regional politics. Italso takes full account of the colonial origins of Australian politics and includes entries on indigenous politics, frontier politics and settler societies.
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by
In discussing a topic, political science lecturers and course textbooks often toss out the name of a theorist or make a sideways reference to a particular theory and move on, as if assuming their student audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. However, academic librarians can tell you this is usually far from the case. Students often approach them seeking a source to provide a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist with just the basics: the who, what, where, how, and why. And librarians often find it difficult to guide these students to a quick, one-stop source. SAGE Reference presents the three-volume Encyclopedia of Political Theory, available in both print and electronic formats. This work serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Coverage includes: -Ancient Theory -Medieval Theory -Early Modern Theory -Enlightenment -Modern Theory -Constitutionalism -Liberalism -Critical Theory -Continental Theory -Empirical Theory -Comparative Political Thought.
Publication Date: 2010