Skip to main content

Mathematics Education: Internet Resources

Useful Internet Resources

Please note that the URL addresses cited may subject to change and therefore inaccessible.

香港教育城 — 小學數學科園地

這是屬於香港教育城的學科天地,讓小學數學科教師及關注小學數學科發展的人士可在此分享教學經驗和教學資源,以推動小學數學教學的發展。網頁內含豐富的數學科教學資源,供教師會員下載使用。

香港教育城 — 中學數學科園地
這是屬於香港教育城的學科天地,旨為任教中學數學科的老師提供一個網上分享的互動平台。

香港數學教育學會

教育局 — 數學教育
內容包括小學至中學數學科的課程綱要、教師培訓、教學資源、最新消息及相關網頁。

數學傳播季刊
內容包括傳播數學知識及促進數學教育。

數學資料庫
提供學前至預科各級數學資源。

American Mathematical Society
Includes Math database, survey data, online books, articles and issues in Math education.

Ask Dr. Math
Ask Dr. Math is a question and answer service for math students and their teachers. A searchable archive is available by level and topic.

Centre for Innovation in Mathematics Teaching
The site is funny and easy to navigate. It also provides new and relevant information on teaching mathematics, touching on both traditional skill-based curricula and a more conceptual reform curricula.

Collaborative Group for Research in Mathematics Education (CRME)
This site includes details of projects, publications and opportunities of the research group. Besides, annotated bibliographies in mathematics education, teacher networks, mathematics education links and mathematics software are provided.

Connected Mathematics Project CMP
The CMP is a problem-centered curriculum. This site provides links and topics related to this Project.

Hong Kong Mathematical Society 香港數學學會
The aims of the Society are to foster the academic research and information exchanges amongst colleagues and to provide favourable conditions for mathematics education, both in theory and practice.

The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive
An archive of Chinese mathematics.

Math Forum
Math Forum has won many awards. This excellent site provides high-quality math and math education content. Ask Dr. Math, Teacher2Teacher, and Problems of the Week are some of the good features of this site.

Mathematical Association of America MAA Online
The MAA is the world’s largest organization devoted to the interests of collegiate mathematics. The major emphasis is the teaching of mathematics.

Mathematics for Students and Teachers
Selected mathematics education resources for students and teachers, where information provided hopes to raise their curiosity and interest in the discovery and learning of mathematics.

Mathematics Virtual Library
This collection of Mathematics-related resources is maintained by the Florida State University Department of Mathematics as a free service to the online community.

MathNerds
This site provides hints, references or guidance in many area of mathematics.

MathsNet
MathsNet offers articles, debate, puzzles, teacher resources, and animation.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
The NCTM is the largest association of mathematics educators in the world. It is dedicated to improving the teaching and learning of mathematics.

NRICH Online Maths club
Includes problems & solutions on mathematical activities as well as news & views, articles, inspirations games and the “NRICH weekly problem”.

Teacher Source: Math
The PBS Teacher Source website is just one of the many fine ways that this organization is actively involved in reaching out to different segments of the educational community in the United States.
The section dedicated to math resources is quite a find, and educators will find a number of lesson plans and related activities for their students here.
While the material is ostensibly designed for students in grades K-12, many of the high school specific activities remain highly applicable to students in the early stages of college-level math.
These materials are divided into groups topically, and they include geometry, calculus, problem solving, and statistics.

Teaching Math: A Video Library
The 20 episodes of mathematics teaching show teachers how to guide students through reasoning and problem solving. The videos also show students commenting about their learning experiences.
The videos cover patterns, congruence, exponential functions and the act of communicating about mathematical ideas.