Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hong Kong Studies: Databases and Articles

Tips: Electronic Databases......

Electronic databases provide lists of publications about a particular subject over a specific period of time. Some databases contain full text of publications.

Find Articles through iSearch


Using iSearch from EdUHK Library is a fast and convenient way to retrieve research articles that you need. Just key in title, author, keywords, or other related publication information into the tab below.

Selected Databases

Hong Kong Heritage Society Archives

The Hong Kong Heritage Society Archives chiefly consist of administrative records, correspondences and writings covering the Society’s activities from its establishment in 1977 to its closure in 1984. 

Frank Fischbeck Collection

The Frank Fischbeck Collection consists of a number of photographic formats that comprise albumen prints, silver gelatin prints, historic panorama prints, B&W and colour photographs, negatives, slides, transparencies and glass plates, which provide a visual record of the Hong Kong story from 1860 to the 2000s. The Collection embodies a broad array of photographic material covering the vast expanse of heritage, culture, traditions and religions across Hong Kong and Asia.

Hong Kong Government Report Online 1842 -1941 
Hong Kong Government Reports Online (HKGRO) is a full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications, namely, Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette.

Basic Law Drafting History Online
Basic Law Drafting History Online (BLDHO) is an online database of information and materials from the drafting history of Hong Kong's constitution, The Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. BLDHO provides free public access to a collection of almost 900 documents prepared or used by the various official bodies from 1985 to 1990, when the Basic Law was drafted and promulgated, and from 1990 to 1997, when preparations were made for the resumption of sovereignty. This collection of primary materials is scanned from documents publicly available in Hong Kong.

The Hong Kong Image Database

It s a digital collection of historical images documenting the Hong Kong experience from the 1840s through to the 1990s. The Database features a wealth of images of Hong Kong, including people, landscapes, infrastructures, villages, agriculture and fisheries activities, industrial settings, housing, buildings, panoramas, and more. Currently the collection contains more than 5,000 images scanned from a variety of resources collected by Special Collections of the University of Hong Kong Libraries, including photographic prints, slides, negatives, and print publications.

Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection

The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.

Cantonese Online Platform : EdUHK Cantonese Self-Learning Website 

This site is created by the Department of Linguistics and Modern Language Studies. It is an unique learning platform is designed for those who wants to learn Cantonese any time anywhere. Learners can choose their learning content based on their needs.

活學活用廣東話:香港教育大學粵語自學平台 

此網站由本校語言學及現代語言系製作,為非粵語母語學生及職員而設計的,用者可以按個別需要選擇學習內容自學粵語。

News in Hong Kong

Latest news from RTHK

Loading ...