Skip to main content

Geography: Databases and Articles

Tips: Electronic Databases......

Electronic databases provide lists of publications about a particular subject over a specific period of time. Some databases contain full text of publications.

Find Articles through iSearch


Using iSearch from EdUHK Library is a fast and convenient way to retrieve research articles that you need. Just key in title, author, keywords, or other related publication information into the tab below.

Selected Databases

Wiley Online Library – Geography

Delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

 

Cambridge Core - Geography

Subject of Economics in Cambridge Core database carries with both depth and breadth, ranging in subject matter from late antiquity to the present day, international in scope and embracing new approaches. Types of resources include major reference series, textbooks and monographs, as well as a collection of distinguished journals affiliated to the world’s leading scholarly societies.

 

JSTOR - Geography

The disciplines of Geography from JSTOR gives you 7/24 access research articles.

 

Edward Elgar eBook - Geography

Includes scholarly research monographs, Research Handbooks, companions, dictionaries, encyclopedia and journals.

 

Articles

From Wiley Online Library

Veblen goods and urban distinction: The economic geography of conspicuous consumption

Journal of Regional Science, 29 June 2018

A fundamental observation of 21st century cities is that they have become great centers of consumption. In this paper, we seek to understand the geographic variation in consumer behavior. Using Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE), we analyze how consumption differs across 21 major U.S. metropolitan areas, and the association between urban characteristics and consumption. We extend previous geographic analysis of consumption to include luxury goods that are socially visible (conspicuous consumption) and luxury goods that are relatively less visible (inconspicuous consumption). Our analysis shows that conspicuous consumption is more sensitive to an urban context than is inconspicuous consumption.

 

 

From Taylor & Francis Online

Socio-spatial polarization and the (re-)distribution of deprived groups in world cities: A case study of Hong Kong

Urban Geography,  05 Jan 2018,

This paper draws on theoretical discussions of world cities to analyze socio-spatial polarization and (re-)distribution of deprived groups in Hong Kong in the 2000s. Intensifying global economic restructuring processes have induced socio-economic polarization, thereby producing deprived groups although the spatial outcomes may depend on the city-specific context. When local policies do not counteract the polarization trend, a spatial manifestation of widening socio-economic gaps can be expected. Intensified pro-growth policies adopted since Hong Kong’s return to Chinese rule in 1997 and during its economic recession in the early 2000s have worsened the impact of globalization-induced socio-economic and spatial restructuring. Census data from 2001 and 2011 show increasingly differentiated socio-economic profiles at the district level. The analysis offered in this study also points to a decreased socially mixed society in 2011 when the deprived groups lived in districts with less presence of the advantaged population.