Guides: General Studies and Liberal Studies: Home

iSearch

Useful LC Class Numbers

Subject	LC Class Numbers
Psychology	BF1-990
Applied psychology	BF636-637
Differential psychology. Individuality. Self	BF697-697.5
Personality	BF698-698.9
Developmental psychology (Including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood)	BF712-724.85
Ethics	BJ1-1725
Individual ethics. Character. Virtue (Including practical and applied ethics, conduct of life, vices, success, ethics for children)	BJ1518-1697
Ethics of social groups, classes. etc. Professional ethics	BJ1725
History of Asia - China	DS701-799.9
Ethnography (History of Asia - China)	DS730-731
History (History of Asia – China)	DS733-779.32
Hong Kong (History of Asia – China)	DS796.H7
Environmental sciences	GE1-350
Environmental education	GE70-90
Environmental policy	GE170-190
Environmentalism. Green movement	GE195-199
Environmental management	GE300-350
Human ecology. Anthropogeography	GF1-900
Environmental influences on humans	GF51
Human influences on the environment	GF75
Sociology - Social psychology	HM1001-1281
Social perception. Social cognition (Including perception of the self and others, prejudices, stereotype)	HM1041-1101
Interpersonal relations. Social behavior	HM1106-1171
Social influence. Social pressure	HM1176-1281
The family. Marriage. Home	HQ503-1064
Children. Child development (Including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children's rights)	HQ767.8-792.2
Youth. Adolescents. Teenagers	HQ793-799.2
Young men and women	HQ799.5-799.9
The family. Marriage. Home - Adulthood	HQ799.95-799.97
Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)	JQ21-6651
East Asia (Including China, Japan, Korea)	JQ1499-1749
Moral and religious education	LC251-951
Moral education. Character building	LC251-318
Humanistic education. Liberal education	LC1001-1024
Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine	RA421-790.95
Study and teaching. Research (Public health)	RA440-440.87
Environmental health (Including sewage disposal, air pollution, nuisances, water supply)	RA565-600
Food and food supply in relation to public health	RA601-602
Disease (Communicable and noninfectious) and public health	RA643-645
Personal health and hygiene (Including clothing, bathing, exercise, travel, nutrition, sleep, sex hygiene)	RA773-788
Environmental protection	TD169-171.8
Environmental pollution	TD172-193.5
Water supply for domestic and industrial purposes	TD201-500
Water pollution	TD419-428
Special types of environment (Including soil pollution, air pollution, noise pollution)	TD878-894

Internet Resources

M21 通識網 - 香港青年協會賽馬會
信報通識
《信報通識》以熱門時事議題聯繫學生的生活與體驗，助學生建立閱讀習慣，建構知識及技巧。內容輔以大量自家製圖表、流程圖等，呈現繁複概念。《信報通識》一直認真鑽研通識科教學內容與最新考評要求，提供教學配套，支援教師教學，啟發學生多角度、高階思維。
明報教育網 - 小學常識
明報教育網 - 通識
星島教育中學部通識
香港公共圖書館 - 青少年專題研習指引
香港經濟日報通six
香港電台「通識網」

Electronic Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Cambridge Core
Cambridge Core is a new platform for Cambridge Books Online and Cambridge Journals Online. Cambridge Books Online which cover subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences. Cambridge Books Online covers Cambridge University Press's collection of over 200 e-journals in subject areas of sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
An e-book database of encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources for multidisplinary research. It supports full-text search within and across collections, advanced search capabilities, bookmarks and annotations.
JSTOR. Arts & Sciences Collection
It covers Arts & Sciences I - XV Collections with over 2,000 titles across 68 discipline, including art, economics, education, health policies, health sciences, language & literature, law, linguistics, mathematics, music, performing arts, history,philosophy, psychology, religion and sociology, etc.
Oxford Reference
Contains hundreds of dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database which covers subject such as: art, architecture, computing science, business, English language, general reference and quotations, nutrition, etc
Research Library (Formerly ProQuest Research Library)
Provides access to information from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including arts, business, children, education, humanities, psychology and sciences etc.
Wiley Online Library
Education, social sciences, psychology, business and science electronic journals from Wiley. Full text access is limited to about 1,400 journals and over 200 e-books which the Library has a subscription.
中國期刊全文數據庫 - China Academic Journal Full-text Database
收錄1994年至今中國學術類核心期刊的全文。內容覆蓋教育、社會學、心理學、宗教、文學、哲學、歷史、語言學、政治學、法律、經濟及管理學等學科。而1917-1993年的學術期刊，則收錄於世紀期刊人文社科精品數據庫。
中文電子期刊服務 CEPS: Chinese Electronic Periodicals Service
提供以中文為主的電子期刊。收錄範圍包括台灣、中國大陸及其他各地以中文為主的資料。涵蓋的科目有人文學、社會科學、自然科學、應用科學、醫學與生命科學等。每種期刊收錄年代不一，但主要為2000年之後。

eBooks

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries 中文集獻
Chinamaxx包含中國1949年後出版的70萬種中文圖書。以人文、歷史和藝術書為主導，涵蓋各個學術領域,例如經典理論，文化、科學、教育、醫學、衛生、文學、藝術、經濟、政治、法律等。
Hyread ebooks 電子書
Hyread提供各種學術、休閒的綜合主題電子書與電子雜誌；同時提供PC、iPad / iPhone、Android平板電腦、智慧型手機等載具，瀏覽器線上閱讀與APP下載閱讀。
iRead eBook (formerly airiti Books) 華藝中文電子書
圖書館已訂購六千多本華文電子書。學科範圍涵蓋教育、社會科學、應用科學、語言學、哲學及藝術等。
Oxford Scholarship Online
The site contains the full text of Oxford books in the multi-discipline areas such as Business and Management, Economics and Finance, History, Linguistics and Literature, Science, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion and more.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central is a collection of thousands academic books from a wide variety of top scholarly and professional publishers. It covers academic disciplines including education, fine arts, language & literature, music, social sciences and technology, etc.
Taylor & Francis Group
Thousands of Taylor & Francis eBooks purchased by the library in subject areas of arts, education, environmental sciences, humanities, language and literature, social sciences and urban studies, etc.
民國近代華文書籍資料庫
收錄自清末至1949年期間中國所出版的繁體中文圖書。書籍種類包括人文思潮、社會研究、政治法律、史地教育、翻譯文學等西方民主與科學思潮(德先生與賽先生)以及傳統中學的現代出版品，絕大部分圖書具有全文檢索功能並提供多層學科分類。

Newspapers & Magazines

PressReader
Provides unlimited access to 6000+ magazines and newspapers from more than 100 countries in 60+ languages. The archive provides up to 90 days back issues. However, any content that is bookmarked, emailed, shared or put into collections do not expire so they will be accessible anytime even beyond the archived period. It is available on any smartphone, tablet or laptop. Downloading of full publications for offline reading is allowed. Note that PressReader app is available. However, you have have to sign up an account in order to access via the application.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903-1998)
With searchable, full text coverage from South China Morning Post’s origin in 1903 up to and including 1998, users will be able to search the entirety of the newspaper including advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and photographs that illuminate history as much as the news articles.
South China Morning Post (SCMP.com, past 20 years)
The online version of the South China Morning Post. It covers the past 20 years of SCMP news.
慧科新聞 WisersOne
資料庫包括 WiseNews 新聞瀏覽，瀏覽每天報刊新聞及WiseSearch新聞檢索，檢索本地報刊、大中華地區及海外不同類別資訊的報刊媒體。

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic
Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Also includes more than 130,000 links to website selected, rated and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Credo Reference
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Also includes more than 130,000 links to website selected, rated and reviewed by Britannica editors.
International Studies Encyclopedia
The International Studies Encyclopedia, published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. It brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
Oxford English Dictionary
Contains complete text of the printed version of Oxford English Dictionary's twenty-volume second edition and three volume addition series.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
An online dictionary on English-Chinese, and Chinese-English.

General Studies and Liberal Studies: Home

iSearch

Useful LC Class Numbers

Internet Resources

Electronic Databases

eBooks

Newspapers & Magazines

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Stay in touch with Library