Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips: Reference works......
Reference collection is a good place to start your research, such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies, etc.
Selected Reference Works
Arts Management by
Comprehensive and practical handbook for arts managers
Call Number: NX770.A8 R34 1996
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
The Arts Management Handbook by
Whether the art form is theater, dance, music, festival, or the visual arts and galleries, the arts manager is the liaison between the artists and their audience. Bringing together the insights of educators and practitioners, this groundbreaker links the fields of management and organizational management with the ongoing evolution in arts management education. It especially focuses on the new directions in arts management as education and practice merge. It uses cases studies as both a pedagogical tool and an integrating device. Separate sections cover Performing and Visual Arts Management, Arts Management Education and Careers, and Arts Management: Government, Nonprofits, and Evaluation. The book also includes a chapter on grants and raising money in the arts.
Call Number: NX760 .A79 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-15
Creative Industries (Critical and Primary Sources) by
Across post-industrial societies worldwide, the creative industries are increasingly seen as a key economic driver. These industries - including fields as diverse as advertising, art, computer games, crafts, design, fashion, film, museums, music, performing arts, publishing, radio, theatre and TV - are built upon individual creativity and innovation and have the potential to create wealth and employment through the mechanism of intellectual property. Creative Industries- Critical Readings brings together the key writings - drawing on both journals and books - to present an authoritative and wide-ranging survey of this emerging field of study. The set is presented with an introduction and the writings are divided into four volumes, organized thematically- Volume 1- Concepts - focuses on the concept of creativity and the development of government and industry interest in creative industries; Volume 2- Economy - maps the role and function of creative industries in the economy at large; Volume 3- Organization - examines the ways in which creative institutions organize themselves; and Volume 4- Work - addresses issues of creative work, labour and careers This major reference work will be invaluable to scholars in economics, cultural studies, sociology, media studies and organization studies.
Call Number: HD9999.C9472 C73 2014
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education by
The Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Educationmarks a milestone in the field of art education. Sponsored by the National Art Education Association and assembled by an internationally known group of art educators, this 36-chapter handbook provides an overview of the remarkable progress that has characterized this field in recent decades. Organized into six sections, it profiles and integrates the following elements of this rapidly emerging field: history, policy, learning, curriculum and instruction, assessment, and competing perspectives. Because the scholarly foundations of art education are relatively new and loosely coupled, this handbook provides researchers, students, and policymakers (both inside and outside the field) an invaluable snapshot of its current boundaries and rapidly growing content. In a nutshell, it provides much needed definition and intellectual respectability to a field that as recently as 1960 was more firmly rooted in the world of arts and crafts than in scholarly research.
Call Number: N103 .H36 2004
Publication Date: 2004-02-23
How to Run a Theatre by
"All of us in the arts field are hungry to improve our skills in arts management. The grim tenor of the times makes this witty and fun guide even more valuable to us all!" Ben Cameron, Former Executive Director, Theater Communications Group "Dr. Jim Volz knows how to organize, how to manage, how to motivate, how to assign priorities. In short, he knows how to get the job done." Abe J. Bassett, Former Dean, Indiana University/Purdue University Jim Volz is one of America's leading theatre consultants with over three decades of work with theatre, dance, music, museum and arts center management. Now, Jim Volz brings his expertise to anyone who works in arts management, from novices to middle managers to executive directors. How to Run a Theater is a unique, dynamic, and savvy guide to building an arts institution that works. Drawing on more than 30 years of experience, here is practical advice on a variety of management skills- Financial Management; Personnel Management; Fundraising Development; Board of Trustees Communications; and Marketing & Audience Development. This new edition is thoroughly updated and revised and now includes a Board of Trustee Contract, new budget exercise with ticket income formulae and the use of social networking for marketing and fundraising.
Call Number: PN2053 .V63 2010
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
Performing Arts Management by
Do you know what it takes to manage a performing arts organization today? In this comprehensive volume, more than 100 managers of top nonprofit and commercial venues share their winning strategies. * Financial management, building a funding base, labor relations, much more * Explores the realities of running a performing arts organization today From theater to classical music, from opera to dance, every type of organization is included, with information on how each one is structured, key managerial figures, its best-practices for financial management, how it handles labor relations, and more. Kennedy Center, the Brooklyn Academy of Music, Lincoln Center, the Mark Morris Dance Company, the New Victory Theater, the Roundabout Theater, the Guthrie Theater, Steppenwolf Theater Company, and many other top groups are represented. Learn to manage a performing arts group successfully in today’s rapidly changing cultural environment with Performing Arts Management.
Call Number: PN1584 .S74 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-30
Research Methods for Cultural Studies by
This new textbook addresses the neglect of practical research methods in cultural studies. It provides students with clearly written overviews of research methods in cultural studies, along with guidelines on how to put these methods into operation. It advocates a multi-method approach, withstudents drawing from a pool of techniques and approaches suitable for their own topics of investigation. The book covers the following main areas:* Drawing on experience, and studying how narratives make sense of experience.* Investigating production processes in the cultural industries, and the consumption and assimilation of cultural products by audiences and fans.* Taking both quantitative and qualitative approaches to the study of cultural life.* Analysing visual images and both spoken and written forms of discourse.* Exploring cultural memory and historical representation.The contributors, along with Michael Pickering, are Martin Barker, Aeron Davis, David Deacon, Emily Keightley, Steph Lawler, Anneke Meyer, Virginia Nightingale, and Sarah Pink. The book is designed for use by students on upper-level undergraduate and taught Masters-level courses as well aspostgraduate research students and cultural studies researchers more generally. It will be of enormous value across all fields of study involved in cultural enquiry and analysis.
Call Number: HM623 .R47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-22
The Routledge Handbook of Global Cultural Policy by
Cultural policy intersects with political, economic, and socio-cultural dynamics at all levels of society, placing high and often contradictory expectations on the capabilities and capacities of the media, the fine, performing, and folk arts, and cultural heritage. These expectations are articulated, mobilised and contested at - and across - a global scale. As a result, the study of cultural policy has firmly established itself as a field that cuts across a range of academic disciplines, including sociology, cultural and media studies, economics, anthropology, area studies, languages, geography, and law. This Routledge Handbook of Global Cultural Policysets out to broaden the field's consideration to recognise the necessity for international and global perspectives. The book explores how cultural policy has become a global phenomenon. It brings together a diverse range of researchers whose work reveals how cultural policy expresses and realises common global concerns, dominant narratives, and geopolitical economic and social inequalities. The sections of the book address cultural policy's relation to core academic disciplines and core questions, of regulations, rights, development, practice, and global issues. With a cross-section of country-by-country case studies, this comprehensive volume is a map for academics and students seeking to become more globally orientated cultural policy scholars.
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
Stage Management by
The highly successful "Bible for any stage manager", now in a revised and updated edition. The stage manager is at the core of every successful theatre production. He or she organises, manages and runs rehearsals and performances; researches and procures the props and furniture; and provides a creative information flow between the production and design departments. This handbook is aimed at students, graduates and all those who aspire to stage management, whether amateur or professional, on a large or small scale. Complete with illustrations, diagrams and helpful checklists, it takes the reader through a typical production, week by week. Other useful topics covered are: * Team dynamics and job roles * Theatre unions * Health and Safety legislation * The job market * Information and communication technology * Production templates * Management techniques and interpersonal skills As well as updated information and resources throughout, this new edition includes two brand new chapters: case studies of professional stage managers and producers working in the field, and an essay on creativity in stage management. 'A comprehensive guide for the aspiring stage manager' Alan Ayckbourn
Call Number: PN2085 .P23 2010
Publication Date: 2011-02-22